Baseball opens 2006 season at Florida A&M on Wednesday

Jan. 31, 2006

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - The Jacksonville University baseball team looks to begin its return to prominence in the Atlantic Sun Conference as the Dolphins open the 2006 season at Florida A&M on Wednesday at 2 p.m. at Moore-Kittles Field.

The Dolphins' 2006 schedule includes four meetings with No. 8 Florida State and a three-game series with No. 18 Florida Atlantic. JU will also face two other teams which made the NCAA Regionals last season - Ohio State and Stetson. In addition to the Seminoles and Owls, the Dolphins will also face five teams from the state of Florida throughout the season, including North Florida, which made the move to Division I this season.

The Dolphins will host the Seminoles on March 22 and April 12 at Alexander Brest Field, while playing at FSU on April 4 and May 3. JU will also travel to Clearwater, Fla., to face Connecticut and Penn State on March 7 and 8, respectively.

The 2006 season will see a shift in the structure of the A-Sun as UCF, Troy and Georgia State leave and are replaced by East Tennessee State, Kennesaw State and North Florida. JU's 30-game A-Sun schedule includes tough road trips to Campbell, Florida Atlantic, Lipscomb, Kennesaw State and North Florida, while the Dolphins will host a five three-game series with defending A-Sun Champion Stetson, Belmont, East Tennessee State, Gardner-Webb and Mercer. Stetson will host the 2006 Atlantic Sun Conference Championship for the fifth-straight year in DeLand, Fla., May 25-27.

The A-Sun continues to be one of the premier baseball conferences in the nation, sending three teams to the NCAA Regionals in four of the past six seasons. JU returns second team all-A-Sun selection LHP Kyle DeVries as well as 2004 A-Sun All-Freshman infielder Matt Lopez. The Dolphins also feature senior 1B Gordie Gronkowski, junior 3B Daniel Murphy and junior outfielder Pete Clifford.

The Dolphins open their home season at Alexander Brest Field against Georgia Southern on Tuesday, Feb. 7, at 4 p.m.