League-High 10 Dolphins Named PFL First-Team All-Conference

Nov. 15, 2001

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - JU placed a league-high 10 players on the Pioneer Football League All-Conference Team, as announced by the league office today. The Dolphins had 10 players named to the first team for the Southern Division, while two additional Dolphins earned honorable-mention All-PFL honors. JU won the Southern Division in its first year in the league and will play the Northern Division champion, Dayton (9-1), on Saturday at noon in the Inaugural PFL Championship Game in Dayton, Ohio.

Five Dolphins earned first-team honors on offense, including senior running back Brent Alexander (Tampa, Fla.), who leads the league in rushing and is a candidate for PFL Offensive Player-of-the-Year honors. Also earning All-PFL honors on offense was junior wide receiver Jon Turner (Melbourne, Fla.), junior tight end Andrew Bianchi (Tallassee, Ala.), senior center Kevin Kelley (Hobe Sound, Fla.) and junior tackle Kevin Womble (Bonifay, Fla.). The Dolphins had one of the top rushing offenses in the PFL, averaging 191.5 yards per game on the ground.

Defensively, JU had four players named to the first team after ranking second in the PFL in total defense (301.8 yards/game) and scoring defense (22.2 points/game), right behind the Dayton Flyers. Senior defensive end Scott Wilson (Holly Hill, Fla.) led the charge up front with a league-high 0.94 sacks per game (7.5 sacks/8 games), while senior free safety Tyrone Wright (Jacksonville, Fla.) led the team with 60 tackles and four interceptions. Junior Linj Shell (Orlando, Fla.) also earned All-PFL honors after picking off four passes and breaking up 10 others, along with senior defensive tackle Justin Yowell (Parkland, Fla.), who has 44 tackles on the season, including nine behind the line of scrimmage and four sacks.

Junior place kicker Chris Brown (Hernando, Miss.) earned first-team All-PFL honors after connecting on a school-record 10 field goals and 24 extra points in his first season as a Dolphin after transferring from Ole Miss. Senior linebackers Tommy Swindell (Edgwater, Fla.) and Pete Satur (Jensen Beach, Fla.) earned honorable-mention all-league honors, while Shell also earned honorable-mention honors as a return specialist.

The conference Coach of the Year, as well as Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, will be announced following the PFL Championship game. The Pioneer Football League is in its ninth year of sponsoring Division I-AA non-scholarship football, but was expanded last spring to include nine teams and two divisions.