JU Places 27 On Pioneer Football League Academic Honor Roll

Jan. 16, 2002

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Jacksonville University football placed 27 student-athletes on the Pioneer Football League Academic Honor Roll for the Fall 2001 semester, the league announced today. More than 250 student-athletes were honored among the nine conference institutions.

"We are extremely proud of the success we had this year, both in the classroom and on the field," JU athletic director Hugh Durham said. "Not only does the PFL provide us with excellent competition on the field, but it is one of the top academic football conferences in the country."

PFL athletic directors and coaches established the honor roll this season as a way to recognize the league's outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in football at member institutions during the fall semester and posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher while enrolled full time in accordance with NCAA rules.

JU finished the 2001 season with a 6-5 record and won the PFL Southern Division Championship in its first season in the league. The Dolphins also finished with a No. 9 ranking in the Sports Network I-AA Mid-Major Poll after losing to No. 2 Dayton in the Inaugural PFL Championship Game. It marked the first time in the four-year history of the program the Dolphins posted a winning record.

JU Football Players on the PFL Academic Honor Roll
Denzil Alleyne, So., Psychology, Andrew Bianchi, Jr., Computer Information Systems, Chris Brown, So., Aviation Management, Chris Fairchild, Fr, Undeclared, Dom Girardi, So., Business, Kyle Hicks, Fr., Computer and Art Design, Josh Hoekstra, Sr., Physical Education, Gil Jackson, Jr., Aviation Management, Jeremy Kearson, Jr., Sociology, Kevin Kelley, Sr., Marketing, Justin Knowles, So., Biology, Donald Mattis, So., Communications, Matt Meyer, Jr. Computer Information Systems, Chris Mills, Fr., Political Science, Ivan Montoya, Sr., Computer Information Systems, Jared Moses, Sr., Physical Education, Derek Roberts, So., Psychology, Linj Shell, So., Communications, David Smalls, So., Engineering, Tommy Swindell, Jr., Marketing, D.J. Walton, Sr., Communications, Buck Walz, Sr., English, Will Weatherford, Sr., International Business, Kevin Womble, So., Engineering, Scott Wilson, Sr., History, Tyrone Wright, Sr., Computer Information Systems, Justin Yowell, Sr., Marketing