JU honors three seniors with A-Sun title on the line
As big as Thursday night’s 63-52 win over Campbell was, the JU men’s basketball team faces a game of equal magnitude on Saturday when they host ETSU at 2:15 p.m.

The Dolphins (18-10, 14-5 A-Sun) will honor three seniors before the game and then need a win over the Bucs (16-14, 12-7 A-Sun) to win the title outright for the second straight season.

It will be the final home game for Lehmon Colbert, Szymon Lukasiak and Ben Smith – a trio of players who have been instrumental in JU’s turnaround the past four years.

Fans are encouraged to come to the Arena early as the Monster Jam has sold out – putting a premium on parking in the sports complex area.

“I am so proud of these young men for what they have accomplished, both on and off the floor,” said JU head coach Cliff Warren. “They will all graduate from JU and be highly successful in their endeavors following college.”

Smith and Colbert will leave JU having entrenched their name in the JU record book.

They will be the first four-year seniors to leave JU without enduring a losing season. They are also the highest scoring duo to play together in JU history.

Individually, Colbert has put up 700 rebounds in his career and is 14th on the all-time scoring list with 1,391 points.

Smith meanwhile is JU’s all-time leader in games played (120), minutes played (4,276), free throws made (577) and steals (225). He is second in assists (296) and 3-point field goals (204) and is third in scoring (1,857 points).

While the group will be honored before the game, there will be plenty of work to be done following the ceremony.

The Dolphins will be facing an ETSU team that blew them out back in December and defeated JU in the finals of last year’s A-Sun Tournament.

For JU, a win gives them a second straight outright conference title – the first team to do that since the College of Charleston won five straight from 1994 to 1998. The Dolphins are guaranteed to be seeded no worse than No. 2 and will be playing on Wednesday in the General Shale Brick A-Sun Tournament. The No. 1 seed will face Kennesaw State at 2:30 p.m., while the No. 2 seed will play UNF at 9 p.m.