MONDAY, MAY 06, 2002
Golf's Ben Lockwood Earns First-Team All-Atlantic Sun Honors

May 6, 2002

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - JU senior golfer Ben Lockwood (Tamworth, New South Wales) has earned First-Team All-Atlantic Sun honors, as voted on by the league's head coaches. Lockwood capped a stellar senior campaign, in which he won three tournament titles and placed in the top-10 in seven of nine events, by finishing sixth at the Atlantic Sun Championship. He finished the season with a team-best 72.2 stroke average through 22 rounds of play.

Lockwood captured his first tournament title after shooting a 2-under-par 142 (71-71) and leading JU to the team title at the Coca-Cola Intercollegiate in October. He followed that with a first-place finish at the Bethune-Cookman Spring Invitational in February after firing a 5-under-par 139 (70-69), and then earned individual medalist honors his next time out at The Citadel Invitational after carding a 4-under-par 140 (70-70) to lead the Dolphins to a second-place finish after a playoff with Elon.

Campbell's Simon Dunn was tabbed the A-Sun Player of the Year after posting a conference-best 72.04 scoring average and two tournament titles during the year. Dunn finished second in the A-Sun Championship to Jacksonville State's Jose Campra, who also earned first-team all-conference honors along with Matias Anselmo of Jacksonville State and Francis McCahill of Stetson.

2002 Atlantic Sun All-Conference Honors

First Team Jose Campra Jacksonville State *Simon Dunn Campbell Ben Lockwood Jacksonville Matias Anselmo Jacksonville State Francis McCahill Stetson

Second Team Matt Anderson Florida Atlantic Jeff Lozano Mercer Braxton Wynns Campbell Jack Croyle Georgia State Adam Barker Belmont

All-Freshmen Team Matias Anselmo Jacksonville State Andreas Hoegberg UCF Paul Rifenberg Florid Atlantic Bradley Farmer Samford Chris Epperson Mercer

*Player of the Year