Sunshine Classic: Fans Welcome to Open Practices on Saturday
In anticipation of the Moe’s Southwest Grill Sunshine Classic, fans are encouraged to attend open workouts by the four participating teams on Saturday at EverBank Field’s practice facilities.

JU will take the field from noon to 1 p.m. Defending national-champion Duke will have its workout at 1:30 p.m., followed by Georgetown at 3 p.m. and Notre Dame at 4 p.m. All four teams will sign autographs after their respective practice sessions have concluded.

The event is free to the public and will also include vendor areas provided by Moe’s Southwest Grill, Dick’s Sporting Goods, Gait Lacrosse, Champion, Smucker’s Uncrustables,, Mercury Luggage and the Wounded Warrior Project.

The open practices will come one day before the actual Sunshine Classic on Sunday. JU and Georgetown will square off in the opening game at noon in the home of the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars. At 3 p.m., Duke and Notre Dame will engage in a rematch of the 2010 national championship game in a contest to be televised by ESPN.

"To have this event at such an early point in our program is a major step for our growth," JU head coach Matt Kerwick said. "We're very fortunate to have tremendous facilities and relationships here in Jacksonville that has brought this event together."

EverBank Field will host some of the best quick-strike offensives in the country. Three of the four participating teams finished in the top-10 nationally in scoring last season.

Tickets are on sale at, with club seats starting at $34.50 and non-club seats starting at $25.50. Discounted prices are available for groups and for all active members of the military.

JU is coming off a 6-7 season in the program’s inaugural year. Kerwick will be looking to build off that effort, starting against the Hoyas in its season opener.

The Dolphins return 27 players from last season, including three of its top-five leading goal scorers. Kerwick will try and build off a successful first year and be competitive as it joins the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference.