Men’s rowing takes four medals at FIRA Fall Classic
After collecting four medals at the Head of the Hooch, the JU men’s rowing team added four more to the total count at the Florida Intercollegiate Rowing Association (FIRA) Fall Classic on Saturday on Canal 54 in Fellsmere, Fla.

JU ended the day medaling with four of six boats to finish the fall season with eight medals in only two races.

“This was a nice way to wrap up our fall racing by enjoying excellent weather and racing conditions today,” said head coach Jim Mitchell. “We got some good information on our varsity boats to see where we need to focus for the winter training. I was particularly happy with the way our freshmen and novice rowers raced. I am excited to see how these young rowers are contributing to the team so early. Now it's time for the guys to put in the work over the winter and get ready for a tough spring racing season.”

The Varsity 8 “A” with coxswain Andrew Soloway, Scott Del Vecchio, Kevin Friedlander, Dylan Kosten, Andy Davis, Brad Miller, Parker Lawler, Wayne Reichard and John Gerety starting things off with silver after going 10:30 behind Florida Tech (10:08) but ahead of Rollins College “A” (11:08), the Varsity 8 “B” consisting of coxswain Anthony Magro, Greg VanOekel, Adrian Perez-Siam, Preston Weinard, Bernard Vingilis, Jake Ruffalo, Chris Ottie, Brian Tye and Andy Lippert (11:12) and Rollins College “B” (11:59).

The Freshman 4 “A” with coxswain Jessica Mellinger, Jared Low, Matt Walker, Brandon Helling and Sean Carney took home silver with a time of 12:47 behind Florida Tech “EXB” (12:03) but ahead of Rollins College “A”, the Freshman 4 “B” with coxswain Ben Hayes, Troy Troupe, Ricky Banach, Jon Haupt and Jesse Brantman (13:05), Rollins College “B” (14:11) and Florida State (14:12).

The Men’s Freshman 8 “A” with coxswain Jessica Mellinger, Scott Del Vecchio, Matt Outlaw, Brad Miller, Brian Cosmillo, Marvin Leininger, Shane Kennedy, Andrew Manchester and Geronimo Fernandez took gold with a time of 11:15 while the Freshman 8 “B” consisting of coxswain Ben Hayes, Troy Troupe, Jared Low, Brandon Helling, Ricky Banach, Sean Carney, Matt Walker, Jon Haupt and Pat Troupe took silver with a (12:29) ahead of Rollins College (12:36) and Florida State (13:34).