Men’s soccer to meet at Mudville Grille for NCAA Selection Show on Monday
After winning the Atlantic Sun Championship on Nov. 15, the JU men’s soccer team will meet at the Mudville Grille on Monday at 6 p.m. as the Dolphins find out their first round opponent in the NCAA Tournament on ESPNEWS.

All fans and media are welcomed to come join the Dolphins as they celebrate their championship and see their name in the tournament bracket.

The Dolphins return home to Jacksonville after rallying twice in the Atlantic Sun Tournament to win the conference title and earn an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament.

JU opened the tournament by knocking off Lipscomb, 4-1, in penalty kicks during the semifinals on Nov. 13.

Freshman midfielder Kristian Lassen scored both goals, including the game-tying score in the 89th minute to send the match into the overtime. Junior goalie Joey Sanchez made three key saves at the end of the second overtime, while the Dolphins hit all four of their penalty kick attempts to earn a spot in the finals.

In the championship final, senior midfielder Ramak Niakan Safi put the Dolphins ahead 1-0, but Campbell scored three goals on three shots to take a 3-1 lead into the half.

The Dolphins rallied in the second half by scoring three unanswered goals, capped off by the game-winning goal in the 89th minute by Niakan Safi to win the conference title.

JU also held Campbell shot less in the second half to avenge last season’s championship final loss and end the Camel’s 16-match conference winning streak.

Niakan Safi was named Tournament MVP and earned all-tournament team honors for his two goals in the final. In addition to Niakan Safi, freshman midfielder Kristian Lassen earned all-tournament team honors after tying the Lipscomb and Campbell matches for JU, while junior midfielder Jonathan Jackson earned all-tournament recognition with a team-high three assists for the Dolphins.

Sophomore forward Tony Taylor, senior defender Philipp Meyner and junior defender Eddie Munnelly each were named to the all-tournament team as well to round out the Dolphin honors.