Hamdy Bonin Named to A-Sun First Team

Nov. 15, 2001

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Dolphin forward Hamdy Bonin (Lower Caldecote, England) earned the highest honors for the Dolphins this season as he was named to the Atlantic Sun's All-Conference first team announced by the conference office on Thursday. Bonin was one of four Dolphins to receive post-season honors for the first time. Sophomore defender and team captain Brett Surrency was named to the A-Sun second team, while freshman midfielders Dia Hunte (Harriman Park, Trinidad Tobago), Carlos Serrano (Orange Park, Fla.) and forward Richard Blackburn (Orange Park, Fla.) were named to the league's All-Freshman Team. JU finished the regular season with a 7-5-1 overall record with a 4-2-1 conference mark as they head into the 2001 A-Sun Championship tournament.

Bonin improved on his freshman year with a stellar sophomore campaign, more than tripling his numbers in goals (11) and points (23), while leading the team and the league in both categories. He also was named A-Sun Player of the Week once this season on his way to all-conference honors.

Surrency receives second-team honors after a solid season in which he captained and anchored the league's second-best defensive squad, while scoring three goals from the defender position.

Hunte garnered all-freshman recognition after a strong freshman season in which he scored three goals to go along with five assists.

Teammates in high school, Serrano and Blackburn teamed up again this season to earn all-freshman honors after scoring a combined seven goals (five and two respectively) for the Dolphin's offense that ranked second in the league in scoring. Serrano ranked in the top-10 in the A-Sun with three assists and 13 points. The Dolphins enter the conference tournament as the No. 3 seed and will face No. 2 Stetson in the first round on Friday afternoon at 4 p.m. in Buies Creek, N.C.

A-Sun PLAYER-OF-THE-YEAR: Max Rooke, Mercer
A-Sun COACH-OF-THE-YEAR: Sean Murphy, Stetson

2001 All-Conference First Team 2001 All-Conference Second Team 2001 All-Freshman Team Pos. Name SchooL Pos. Name School Pos. Name School GK Jonas Kolstad FAU GK Juuso Heikurainen UCF GK Matt Renfroe Bel D Coleman Duckworth Mer D Jason Osborne Stet D Andy Welch Stet D Steve Hollinger Cam D Tom Sobczak FAU D Tom Sobczak FAU D Joe Fitzpatrick Stet D Tobias Kronberger UCF D Jon Sobczak UCF MF Chris Fronk Stet D Brett Surrency JU D Jamie Hargather GSU MF Max Rooke Mer MF Pablo Luna FAU D Stephen Tuckwood Mer MF David Henager Mer MF Ornulf Olsen UCF MF Dia Hunte JU MF Jonathan Scruggs GSU MF Chris Beaulac UCF MF Richard BlackburnJU F Neil Zarac Mer F Ian Zarac Stet F Carlos Serrano JU F Hamdy Bonin JU F Antonio DaSilva Cam F Jason Kirk Cam F Daniel Berhane UCF F Justin Niemann Stet F Eric Vasquez UCF