MONDAY, APRIL 25, 2005
Emese Sulyos and Lena Willi Earn Women's Tennis All-Atlantic Sun Honors

April 25, 2005

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Freshman Lena Willi (Freiburg, Germany) was named Atlantic Sun Conference Women's Tennis Freshman of the Year and made the All-Atlantic Sun second team, while sophomore Emese Sulyos (Szolnok, Hungary) received First-Team Atlantic Sun All-Conference honors for the second straight season, the conference office released today.

Sulyos, the 2004 A-Sun Player of the Year, had a 19-4 record for the Dolphins in 2005 at the top singles position. She now has compiled a 41-4 record overall in her career. She downed this year's A-Sun Player of the Year and 114th-ranked Alena Dvorakova of Florida Atlantic, 7-6, 6-4, in the quarterfinals of the A-Sun Championship.

Willi is the second straight Dolphin to receive Freshman-of-the-Year honors after Sulyos took the award a year ago. Willi went 18-6 on the season in singles while ending the year on a 12-match winning streak. She is the first Dolphin to be named to the second team since her doubles partner, senior Nisrine Hajbane (Casablanca, Morocco), received the recognition in 2003.

The Dolphins finished the season 10-10 after losing out in the A-Sun quarterfinals to Florida Atlantic.

2005 Atlantic Sun All-Conference Team

Player of the Year: Alena Dvorakova, Florida Atlantic
Coach of the Year:
Sasha Schmid, Stetson
Freshman of the Year: Lena Willi, Jacksonville

All-Conference First Team

Jackie BohannonStetson
Anne BreiholtzGeorgia State
Alena DvorakovaFlorida Atlantic
Pamela FernandezUCF
Annamaria ForgacsGeorgia State
Kristina LohmosUCF
Georgiana MartaCampbell
Mili MilovanovicStetson
Emese SulyosJacksonville

All-Conference Second Team

Scarlet AlfonzoCampbell
Katherine BartnikFlorida Atlantic
Melissa DeJongGardner-Webb
Linda JohanssonBelmont
Suzanne JonesTroy
Veronika KoksovaFlorida Atlantic
Tsitsi MasvibaTroy
Maja MiladinovicStetson
Teresina PazsoldanMercer
Lena WilliJacksonville

All-Freshman Team

Catherine CanadyStetson
Jennifer CaratiUCF
Linda JohanssonBelmont
Claudia KechtFlorida Atlantic
Caitlin KhouriLipscomb
Maja MiladinovicStetson
Mateja PodgorsekGeorgia State
Lena WilliJacksonville
Anna YakimchenkovaUCF