Rowing gets back to the water for Head of the Hooch
The JU rowing teams will shake off the rust and see someone other than themselves at the startline for the first time in two weeks as the Dolphins compete in the Head of the Hooch Regatta, Saturday on the Tennessee River in Chattanooga, Tenn.

JU, which tallied nine medals in its opening weekend at the First Coast Head Race, will have 10 boats competing (seven men, three women) as the squads get set for the final stretch of the 2009 fall season.

The Men’s Lightweight 4 consisting of coxswain Anthony Magro, Rich Kelly, Nick Spitzer, Wayne Reichard and Parker Lawler will start things off for JU at 9:11 a.m.

The Men’s Freshman 4 with coxswain Emma Allen, Greg VanOekel, Adrian Perez-Siam, Jake Ruffalo and Art Pareene will compete at 10:40 a.m.

The Men’s Championship 8 with coxswain Dan Moore, Dylan Kosten, Erich Negaard, Sebastian Kuhn, Isaac LaCount, Isaiah LaCount, John Gerety, Kevin Friedlander and Tyler Humphrey will go at 11:25 a.m.

The Women’s Championship 8 made up of coxswain Jamie Goldstein, Emily Close, Mary Mosier, Jenna Barker, Danielle Fournier, Kelly Burke, Jill Carmody, Allison Sobiech and Karylina Greer will lead things off for the women’s squad at 11:29 a.m.

The Men’s Lightweight 8 with coxswain Andrew Soloway, Rich Kelly, Nick Spitzer, Tucker Smoot, Parker Lawler, Danny Lang, Chris Barse, Wayne Reichard and Brandon Makrides will go at 12:05 p.m.

The Men’s Freshman 8 with coxswain Emma Allen, Greg VanOekel, Adrian Perez-Siam, Jake Ruffalo, Art Pareene, Bernard Vingilis, Bryan Tye, Danny Lang and Pat Mahon will compete at 1:45 p.m.

The Men’s Championship 4 “A” consisting of coxswain Tom Richards, Erich Negaard, Sebastian Kuhn, Tyler Humphrey and Dylan Kosten and the Men’s Championship 4 “B” with coxswain Anthony Magro, Luke Bauman, Chris Ottie, Dan Hutchinson and Mike Vasaya will take to the water at 4 p.m.

The Women’s Championship 4 “A” with coxswain Michaela Kachadorian, Jenna Manis, Brooke Reemsnyder, Morgan McTiernan and Mary Mosier and the Women’s Championship “B” made up of coxswain Carolyn Barquist, Emily Close, Jill Carmody, Brittany Cahan and Abby Sierigk will close the competition for the Dolphins at 4:04 p.m.