Rowing takes home 11 medals at Head of the South
Senior Kelly Burke took home two gold medals with the Championship 8 and Championship 4.
Senior Kelly Burke took home two gold medals with the Championship 8 and Championship 4.
The JU rowing teams had tremendous finishes to its 2009 fall season as the Dolphins came away with 11 medals out of 18 entries while competing on the Savannah River for The Head of the South on Saturday at the Augusta Rowing Club.

JU, which featured its largest travel party in program history with 91 student-athletes, finished with six gold, three silver and two bronze medals against 434 entries while the Men’s Championship 8 complete the fall season undefeated. The Dolphins will now head into Winter Training with 26 medals and an abundance of momentum from its varsity boats and new found experience for the novices.

The Dolphins also began the event by dedicating two of its Pairs Shells, the “Brad” and the “Annette,” after long time supporters, parents and former JU rowers Brad and Annette Negaard.

“I am proud of how the men performed not only at this regatta, but throughout the season,” said JU head coach Jim Mitchell. “For the second week in a row, we showed our depth as a squad, and competed well at all levels. The word I would use to describe this fall season is “Productive.” I think we gained a lot of knowledge, and fitness, which bodes well as we transition into our winter training phase.”

“The novices had their first races and did well,” said JU women’s head coach Kris Muhl. “The varsity women had some very strong races making the last fall race the best rows that most of the women have had so far this year. The support of parents was great and very much appreciated. We look forward to continuing to develop as a team as we head into Winter Training.”

The Women’s Novice 8 with coxswain Hannah Pumphrey, Cassie MacLellan, Candace Cooper, Jamie Dunlap, Whitney Matthews, Olivia Anderson, Adrienne Santos, Emily Gonzalez and Stephanie Hildenbrandt finished eighth with a time of 18:28 behind College of Charleston, Clemson, Virginia Tech “A”, Davidson, Auburn, Emory and Georgia Tech “A” but ahead of UNC-Wilmington, N.C. State, Georgia, Virginia Commonwealth, Georgia Tech “B” and Virginia Tech “B”.

The Men’s Lightweight 4 with coxswain Dan Moore, Richard Kelly, Parker Lawler, Wayne Reichard and Brandon Makrides finished second with a mark of 16:28.4 behind Emory but ahead of Georgia Tech, Clemson, Auburn and Georgia.

The Men’s Pair “A” with Erich Negaard and Sebastian Kuhn took first with a time of 16:15.8 ahead of Alabama while the Men’s Pair “B” consisting of Tyler Humphrey and Dylan Kosten took third (16:47.7) ahead of Georgia Tech “A” & “B”.

The Men’s Freshman 4 with coxswain Jasmine Klemz, Anatoly Kozerezov, Hasan Oracius, Daniel Danforth and Joey Tosto took third with a time of 19:54.3 behind Clemson and College of Charleston.

The Men’s Novice 4 made up of coxswain Sarah Moore, Bernard Vingilis, Evan Schnitker, Charles Cooke and Brian Tye placed fifth with a time of 17:37.4 behind N.C. State, Auburn, Virginia Tech and College of Charleston but ahead of Georgia State, Clemson, Georgia Tech “B”, N.C. State “B”, Auburn “B”, Emory “A” & “B”, Auburn “C”, Georgia Tech “A”, Clemson “B”, Georgia, Georgia State “B”, Berry and Rhodes College.

The Women’s Championship 4 with coxswain Carolyn Barquist, Kelly Burke, Jill Carmody, Jenna Barker and Danielle Fournier finished first with a time of 17:28.7 ahead of Emory.

The Men’s Championship 4 with coxswain Dan Moore, Isaac LaCount, Isaiah LaCount, Dan Hutchinson and Mike Vasaya placed second with a time of 16:11.3 behind Emory but ahead of Georgia Tech, Auburn and Alabama.

The Men’s Lightweight 8 made up of coxswain Anthony Magro, Richard Kelly, Kevin Friedlander, Tucker Smoot, Nicholas Spitzer, John Gerety, Parker Lawler, Wayne Reichard and Chris Barse finished first with a time of 14:21.0 ahead of Georgia Tech.

The Women’s Club 4 “A” with coxswain Michaela Kachadoorian, Emily Close, Mary Mosier, Allison Sobiech and Jenna Mannis placed second with a time of 18:12.9 behind Georgia but ahead of Clemson, Davidson, Tampa, College of Charleston and the Women’s Club “B” made up of coxswain Savannah Rice, Morgan McTiernan, Brooke Reemsnyder, Brittany Cahan and Abby Sierigk and N.C. State.

The Men’s Freshman 8 with coxswain Emma Allen, Greg VanOekel, Adrian Perez-Siam, Jake Ruffalo, Arthur Pareene, Bernard Vingilis, Brian Tye, Danny Lang and Patrick Mahon placed first with a time of 14:57.0 ahead of Clemson and Georgia Tech.

The Men’s Novice 8 made up of coxswain Sarah Moore, Charles Cooke, Evan Schnitker, John Chambers, Michael Esposito, Korkies Cabrera, Grant Mulkey, Charlie Spratt and Andrew Lippert placed 10th with a mark of 16:53.6 behind N.C. State, Emory, Virginia Tech “A”, Georgia Tech, Virginia Tech “B”, Alabama “A”, Virginia Commonwealth, Auburn and College of Charleston but ahead of UNC-Wilmington, Alabama “B” and Clemson.

The Women’s Novice 4 “A” made up of coxswain Amber Perry, Jamie Dunlap, Molly Dutilly, Mary Irvin and Briana Keaton placed 11th with a time of 19:50.6 behind Clemson, Georgia State “A”, College of Charleston, Georgia State “B”, Georgia “A”, Emory “A”, Auburn “A”, Wake Forest, Clemson “B” and Auburn “B” but ahead of Wake Forest “B”, the Women’s Novice 4 “B” consisting of coxswain Marissa Costanzo, Olivia Anderson, Whitney Mathews, Ivy Hartley and Allison Pecaut (20:16.7), Berry, Georgia Tech, N.C. State, Rhodes College, College of Charleston, Georgia “B”, Berry “C” and Berry “B”.

The Men’s Championship 8 “A” with coxswain Andrew Soloway, Dylan Kosten, Erich Negaard, Sebastian Kuhn, Isaac LaCount, Isaiah LaCount, John Gerety, Kevin Friedlander and Tyler Humphrey placed first with a time of 13:47.9 ahead of Georgia Tech “A”, Emory, the Men’s Championship 8 “B” made up of coxswain Tom Richards, Andy Davis, Chris Ottie, Greg VanOekel, Adrian Perez-Siam, Tucker Smoot, Nick Spitzer, Luke Bauman and Chris Barse (14:28.9), Georgia Tech “B” and Alabama.

The Women’s Championship 8 with coxswain Jamie Goldstein, Emily Close, Mary Mosier, Jenna Barker, Danielle Fournier, Kelly Burke, Jill Carmody, Allison Sobiech and Karly Greer ended the day placing first with a time of 15:51.8 against Georgia Tech “A”, Virginia Tech, Emory and Georgia Tech “B”.

For more race information, log onto