TUESDAY, JULY 20, 2010
Men’s Varsity completes final day of IRA Regatta
The JU Men’s Varsity 8 put the finishing touches on a landmark season by completing the final day of the 108th Intercollegiate Rowing Championships (IRA) Regatta on the Cooper River in Camden County, N.J.

The Men’s Varsity 8, consisting of coxswain Tom Richards, Dylan Kosten, Erich Negaard, Sebastian Kuhn, Isaac LaCount, John Gerety, Andy Davis, Kevin Friedlander and Tyler Humphrey placed sixth in the C Final behind Navy, Stanford, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Oregon State.

“We raced the final hard, but went out too fast and it hurt us in the second 1000 meters,” said JU head men’s coach Jim Mitchell. “We took a risk and went for it early but paid the price. Although we would have obviously liked to finish higher in the standings, this whole experience has been eye opening and I consider it a very positive experience for our growth. It's hard to understand how fast the best crews in the nation are until you race them.”

The V8 opened the event by placing sixth in the initial heat with a time of 6:05.36 behind Washington (5:30.46), Dartmouth (5:35.88), Stanford (5:42.87), Navy (5:43.37) and Wisconsin (5:50.02). In the second repechage later that day, the squad placed sixth with a mark of 5:52.81 behind Brown (5:37.60), Syracuse (5:39.93), Princeton (5:41.12), Navy (5:44.11), and Oregon State (5:52.81).

The squad made JU history by becoming the first Varsity 8 boat in program history to earn the right to compete in the oldest collegiate rowing championship in the United States. The crew was also the first JU boat to compete in the event since the Varsity 4 and Pair competed in 1974.

“I want to thank our three seniors in the boat, Erich Negaard, Sebastian Kuhn and Tyler Humphrey for their leadership and dedication to the team,” Mitchell said. “These guys may not be in the boat next year, but they certainly have contributed to our future speed for many years to come. I see no signs of slowing in the growth of JU rowing.”

The MV8, which earned national acclaim for its victory over No. 19 Temple to claim the Murphy Cup on April 4, was one of 18 boats across the nation to be selected to compete in the event, joining Boston, Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Northeastern, Oregon State, Princeton, Stanford, Syracuse, U.S. Naval Academy, California, Pennsylvania, Washington, Wisconsin and Yale.