Men's Varsity 8 makes JU history at IRA Regatta
The MV8 became the first JU Varisty 8 boat to compete in the IRA Regatta on Thursday.
The MV8 became the first JU Varisty 8 boat to compete in the IRA Regatta on Thursday.
After four days of training, the JU Men’s Varsity 8 finally set history by taking to the water in the third heat of the 108th Intercollegiate Rowing Championships (IRA) Regatta on the Cooper River in Camden County, N.J.

The Men’s Varsity 8, consisting of coxswain Tom Richards, Dylan Kosten, Erich Negaard, Sebastian Kuhn, Isaac LaCount, John Gerety, Andy Davis, Kevin Friedlander and Tyler Humphrey opened the day by placing sixth in the initial heat with a time of 6:05.36 behind Washington (5:30.46), Dartmouth (5:35.88), Stanford (5:42.87), Navy (5:43.37) and Wisconsin (5:50.02).

In the second repechage later that day, the squad placed sixth with a mark of 5:52.81 behind Brown (5:37.60), Syracuse (5:39.93), Princeton (5:41.12), Navy (5:44.11), and Oregon State (5:52.81).

“We raced well today, but we raced against the best in the country,” said JU head men's rowing coach Jim Mitchell. “We will use tomorrow as a rest day, with a short practice, and be ready to see what we can do on Saturday. This is a huge learning experience for me and our guys, which bodes well for the future of JU rowing.”

The squad will take a day off to practice before competing in the C Level Final on Saturday at 11:30 a.m. against Wisconsin, Navy, Stanford, Pennsylvania and Oregon State.

The squad is the first JU Varsity 8 boat in program history to earn the right to compete in the oldest collegiate rowing championship in the United States. The crew is also be the first JU boat to compete in the event since the Varsity 4 and Pair competed in 1974.

The MV8, which earned national acclaim for its victory over No. 19 Temple to claim the Murphy Cup on April 4, was one of 18 boats across the nation to be selected to compete in the event, joining Boston, Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Northeastern, Oregon State, Princeton, Stanford, Syracuse, U.S. Naval Academy, California, Pennsylvania, Washington, Wisconsin and Yale.

To follow C Final on Saturday, be sure to log onto for every available means of technology and links to get you there.