MONDAY, JUNE 07, 2010
Charlene Charles competes in heptathlon at NCAA Championships on Wednesday
Freshman Charlene Charles
Freshman Charlene Charles
It’s been a long year and successful search for freshman Charlene Charles and she has the biggest meet left to go as she represents the JU track & field team in the heptathlon at the NCAA Championships on Wednesday in Eugene, Ore.

A native of France, she earned her first trip to NCAA Championships after posting 5,325 points (2nd) in the heptathlon at the FSU Relays (3/26).

Charles is the first Dolphin to compete in the heptathlon at the NCAA Championships since 2010 JU Hall of Fame inductee Andrea Pressley earned All-America honors in the event in 2004.

“It is very exciting for Charlene to get her first national championship experience,” said JU head coach Ron Grigg. “She is one of two true freshmen in the field of 24 athletes in the most demanding event in the sport. The fact that she earned her qualifying mark in her first collegiate heptathlon in March is even more impressive. This experience will serve her well for her future development in the sport.”

At the FSU relays in March, she won the high jump (5’7”), 200-meter (24.56), 100-meter hurdles (13.90) and long jump (19’4.25”), while finishing second in the 800-meter (2:19.34) to round out the event.

Charles last competed in the NCAA East NCAA East Preliminary Round on May 29 in the 4x100-meter relay where the Dolphins took 16th with a time of 45.28.

The heptathlon begins Wednesday at 4 p.m. EST (1 p.m. PST) with the 100-meter hurdles followed by the high jump, shot put and 200-meter. The event will conclude on Thursday with the long jump, javelin and 800-meter portions starting at 4:45 pm EST (1:45 p.m. PST).