MONDAY, JULY 26, 2010
Rudell Small named to FCS Running Back "Performer of the Year" award watch list
Rudell Small continues to turn heads nationally, earning a spot on the Football Championship Subdivision Running Back “Performer of the Year” award.

JU’s all-time leading rusher was one of 13 running backs in the country to earn a spot on the initial watch list created by the College Football Performance Awards.

Small is joined on the list by Kyle Minett (South Dakota State), Taiwan Jones (Eastern Washington), Chris Evans (Samford), Chase Reynolds (Montana), Devon Moore (Appalachian State), Ed Gowins (Stony Brook), Justin Babb (Savannah State), Patrick Hall (Gardner-Webb), Mario Crawford (Old Dominion), Mike Rucker (Wofford), Terrence Holt (Austin Peay) and Matt Szczur (Villanova).

The native of Ocala, Fla. has rewritten the Dolphins record book in his first three seasons, tallying 2,928 rushing yards and becoming the first Dolphin in program history to rush for more than 1,000 yards in back-to-back seasons.

A Walter Payton Award candidate, Small enters the season ranked fourth nationally among active running backs in career yards and third in rushing touchdowns.

He is one of four Dolphins to earn a spot on the initial watch lists, joining quarterback Josh McGregor, wide receiver Josh Philpart and punt returner Elliott Finkley.