FRIDAY, MAY 20, 2011
Adam Brett Walker named Dick Howser Trophy Award semifinalist
Sophomore Adam Brett Walker, who was named as a candidate for the Golden Spikes Award, was selected as one of 36 semifinalists for the Dick Howser Trophy.
Sophomore Adam Brett Walker, who was named as a candidate for the Golden Spikes Award, was selected as one of 36 semifinalists for the Dick Howser Trophy.
The accolades continue for sophomore Adam Brett Walker after being listed as one of 36 semifinalists for the Dick Howser Trophy by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

This is Walker’s second major award nomination for the top collegiate player after being a late addition to the 60-man mid-season nomination list for the Golden Spikes Award by USA Baseball on May 5.

The NCBWA, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce and the College Baseball Foundation, awards the Dick Howser Trophy to the top player in collegiate baseball.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy Award recipient based on two rounds of national voting. This year’s 25th anniversary of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations will be made even more special by the awarding of this year’s honor at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the new home of the College World Series. The award will be presented on Tuesday, June 21 at 10 a.m. CT, prior to the fourth day of the 2011 CWS.

The candidates hail from 17 different conferences and 28 different schools. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with six semifinalists, followed by the ACC with four and the Big XII, Conference USA, Missouri Valley and the Southern Conference with three. Every position on the diamond is represented, including eight starting pitchers, four outfielders, utility players and three catchers, first basemen, relief pitchers and shortstop, among this diversified group.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the defending American League champion Tampa Bay Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four – along with several other locations. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008 and Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010.

A 2011 A-Sun Preseason all-conference selection, Walker was also voted one of the top three “Biggest Power Threats” by conference coaches in A-Sun Preview.

In his first season at JU, Walker was named Louisville Slugger Freshman All-America and second team Freshman All-America by Ping! He garnered second team all-conference and all-freshman honors after ranking seventh in the A-Sun in home runs (16) and ninth in slugging percentage (.635). His home run total ranks sixth on the JU single-season record list. He also led the team with 58 RBI, 122 total bases, a .635 slugging percentage and 20 two-out RBI.

During the summer of 2010, Walker helped the Licking County Settlers reach the Great Lakes Summer Collegiate League title game and was voted “Best Prospect” in the GLSCL.