Mohr on Rice Watch List
Jacksonville University punter Garrett Mohr is one of 15 freshmen on the first Watch List for the inaugural Jerry Rice Award is comprised of 15 freshmen who are off to outstanding starts this season.

Mohr, from Thomson, Ga., is averaging 42.2 yards per kick on 19 punts and kicked one 63 yards against The Citadel. He also is the holder on extra points and can play quarterback.

The Rice Award, presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by, will honor the outstanding freshman in the Football Championship Subdivision. A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the award winner after the regular season. The legendary Rice, who played in the FCS (then Division I-AA) at Mississippi Valley State, will present the award at the national awards banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas.

In addition to Mohr, the first Watch List features: includes quarterbacks Jerry Lovelocke of Prairie View A&M and Greg McGhee of Howard; running backs Andre Clarke of North Carolina Central, David Johnson of Northern Iowa, Ross Scheuerman of Lafayette, Jordan Talley of Eastern Washington and Shaun Warren of Western Carolina; wide receivers R.J. Harris of New Hampshire and Brandon White of San Diego; linebackers Michael Dallas II of the Morgan State, D'Vonte Grant of North Carolina A&T and Dillon Lucas of Villanova and cornerbacks: Eriq Lewis of Old Dominion and Zachary Senvisky of Morehead State.

The new award allows Rice to join three other football legends whose names adorn the top individual awards in the FCS: the Walter Payton (FCS outstanding player) and Eddie Robinson (FCS coach of the year) awards, which are celebrating their 25th anniversaries this season, and the Buck Buchanan Award (FCS outstanding defensive player) - each sponsored by