Pimineta, Dewhirst, Walden All-PFL first teamers
Nine JU football players have been named to the first and second teams of the All-Pioneer Football League squads announced Tuesday. Three of the players are first teamers.

Junior defensive lineman Juan Pimienta, redshirt junior defensive back Jordan Dewhirst and kick returner Colby Walden all were put on the first team.

Pimienta, from Apopka, Fla., led the PFL in sacks with eight this season and had 12.5 tackles for losses. He also forced and recovered two fumbles and had 43 tackles (21 solo).

Dewhirst, a safety from Fort White, Fla., was one of the defensive leaders for the Dolphins and led the team in tackles with 57 (32 solo). He also recovered two fumbles, forced one and had six pass breakups. Dewhirst had a two-touchdown game against Charleston Southern when he returned an interception 39 yards for a score and returned an onside kick 44 yards for a touchdown.

Walden, a senior from Tampa, Fla., the greatest returner in JU history, had two touchdown returns, including the game winner against Dayton. He averaged 27.2 yards per return and had a 99-yard touchdown against Marist. He also played cornerback on defense and had 16 tackles and nine pass breakups.

Six Dolphins were named to the All-PFL second team, three from the offense, two on defense and one special teamer. Sophomore tight end Andy Robustelli, from Sarasota, Fla., had six touchdown receptions and senior running back Keith Dawson (Plant City, Fla.), who gained 217 yards against Campbell, got offensive honors as did left tackle Tramell Williams (Jacksonville, Fla.).

Newcomer Tre Davis, from Orlando, Fla., was named at linebacker as was senior Layne McCombs.

Davis, a redshirt sophomore who transferred from The Citadel, was second on the team in tackles with 53, including seven for losses and he had an interception. McCombs, from Naples, Fla., had 46 tackles, two pass breakups, forced a fumble and recovered a fumble.

Junior place kicker Dylan Lynch, who led the team in scoring with 73 points, is the second-team placekicker. Lynch, from Jacksonville who transferred from Florida International, kicked 14 field goals and 31 extra points. His longest field goal was 50 yards.

The Dolphins had 10 players, more than any team in the league, winning honorable mention notice. Wide receivers Dorian Guy and D’Andre Randle, offensive linemen Dylan Bostick, Kevin Battle and Matt Davis, defensive lineman Luidji Michel, linebacker Taylor Marsh, defensive backs Andre Addison, Marquise Dixon, Antonio McRae and punter Kody Thomas all were named.