MONDAY, MARCH 25, 2013
Football Kicks Off Spring Practice On Tuesday
Head Coach Kerwin Bell has led JU to five straight winning seasons, including a 7-4 mark last fall
Head Coach Kerwin Bell has led JU to five straight winning seasons, including a 7-4 mark last fall
Dolphins will cap off four-week practice session with annual spring game on April 20   

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Under the direction of sixth-year head coach Kerwin Bell, the Jacksonville University football team is set to kick-off spring practice on Tuesday, March 25. The four-week, 15 practice session will conclude with the annual Spring Game on April 20.

“Offensively the receiving and running back competitions are two big areas that we are going to see who fights it out this spring” said Bell. “We have a lot of good players at those two positions and we need someone to step forward this spring. We do have all five offensive lineman returning, but we are moving some guys around so its going to be a good spring in the teaching sense. These next few weeks will give us a chance to see the changes we made. We feel that we moved a few guys into their more natural positions so we are excited to see how they respond.”

Spring practice runs on average from 4:00-6:30 p.m. during the week and with a few select scrimmages on Saturday’s. Days and times are subject to change, but all practices are open to the public and members of the media.

“Other areas of focus for us this spring will be at defensive tackle where we lost a really great player in Mike Mayoral, so we’ll need to find some guys to help replace him on the defensive line. We also lost a great kickoff returner Colby Walden, so there is another gap in our special teams that we will be looking for a play maker to emerge.”

For the most up-to-date practice days and times, contact the JU Football Office at 904-256-7957.
 
The Dolphins complete spring practice schedule is as follows:
 
Tue., March 26 (4-6:30 pm)
Wed., March 27 (4-6:30 pm)
Thu., March 28 (4-6:30 pm)
Sat., March 30 (8-10:30 am)
Tue., April 2 (4-6:30 pm)
Wed., April 3 (4-6:30 pm)
Thu., April 4 (4-6:30 pm)
Sat., April 6 (Scrimmage 9:00 am)
Tue., April 9 (4-6:30 pm)
Thu., April 11 (4-6:30 pm)
Fri., April 12 (4-6:30 pm)
Sat., April 13 (Scrimmage 8-10:30 am)
Mon., April 15 (4-6:30 pm)
Thu., April 18 (4-6:30 pm)
Sat., April 20 (Spring Game - 1 p.m.)