Men’s Rowing Places Second at MAAC Championships

WEST WINDSOR, N.J. – The Jacksonville University men’s rowing program performed well at the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Championship and placed second overall in the regatta with 22 points. 

The Dolphins finished behind defending/reigning MAAC champions Marist (26 points) and ahead of Iona (12), Fairfield (9) and Canisius (6).

The Varsity 4 of Marissa Chodorow (coxswain), Erik Fournier, Andrew Bechtold, Shane Kennedy and Troy Troupe was the first to test Lake Mercer and the crew rowed into the top spot as the only boat to finish their event in less than seven minutes. JU’s time of 6:58.56 overshadowed Marist (7:02.34), Fairfield (7:19.37) and Iona (7:59.09).

In consecutive 1-2 finishes, the Dolphins secured second place behind Marist in both of the V8 events. The Red Foxes claimed the top spot in the M2V8 with a time of 6:09.23, just seconds before JU (6:12.10), and later edged the Dolphins in the V8 by nearly five seconds.

Next up was the men’s pair of Stephen Marra and Alex DeLong. A margin of nearly 30 seconds stood between the Dolphins and Fairfield with JU rowing itself into the top spot in 8:16.97.

The men’s Novice Eight crew then commanded its event with a course-best of 6:18.39 to defeat Fairfield who paced a time of 6:49.53.

Closing out the men’s portion of the MAACs was the Open Four race. With two boats participating, JU’s “A” Boat placed third (6:55.9) while the Dolphin “B” Boat trailed closely for fourth (6:58.18).
Unlike other sports, rowing doesn't get a Senior Day and so Saturday's regatta officially served as Sean Carney, Brian Cosmillo, Scott Del Vecchio,  Shane Kennedy, and Troy Troupe's final race of their undergraduate careers. However, the 2014 May graduates will join their teammates at the prestigious Dad Vails regatta on May 9 before closing the spring season at the IRAs on May 30.


Race Men's V4  Men's 2V8  Men's V8  Men's 2  Men's F/N8  Men's open 4   Men's open 4 
Oars Green White Red Brown White Red Red
Boat EL John Hudson Swift John EM EL
C Marissa Chodorow Stephan McDonald Alex Tate   Stephan McDonald Alex Tate Marissa Chodorow
8   Luke Myhree Chase Rowe   Luke Myhree    
7   Shane Barnett Scott Waitley   Shane Barnett    
6   Victor Gargaun Andrew Stebbins   Victor Gargaun    
5   Travis Pulliam Nathan Esterline   Travis Pulliam    
4 Erik Fournier Scott Marx Billy Macomber   Scott Marx Scott Waitley Erik Fournier
3 Andrew Bechtold Frank Maurice Sean Carney   Frank Maurice Chase Rowe Andrew Bechtold
2 Shane Kennedy Will Vanneck Scott Del Vecchio Stephen Marra Will Vanneck Sean Carney Shane Kennedy
1 Troy Troupe Nico MacKay Brian Cosmillo Alex DeLong Nico MacKay Scott Del Vecchio Troy Troupe