TUESDAY, MAY 21, 2013
Hannon & McCord To Represent Dolphins at IWLCA Senior All-Star Game
Coach McCord is honored for reaching 100 career wins at the 2012 IWLCA Banquet last November
Coach McCord is honored for reaching 100 career wins at the 2012 IWLCA Banquet last November
Led by Coach McCord, Hannon will compete along side some of the top players in the nation on Sunday, May 26

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – When Jacksonville senior defender Rachel Hannon (Annapolis, Md.) takes the field on Sunday as one of 20 players representing the South team in the 2013 IWLCA Division I North-South Senior All-Star Game, she will have a familiar face guiding her from the sideline. Dolphins’ Head Coach Mindy McCord has been selected to coach the South team in the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association’s annual game scheduled to take place at 11:30 am this Sunday, May 26 on the campus of Cabrini College in Philadelphia, Pa.

A First Team All-Sun pick this season, Hannon capped off her record setting career by leading Jacksonville to its first ever NCAA Tournament appearance after winning both the Atlantic Sun regular season and tournament championships. As a junior in 2012 she set the NCAA record with 131 draw controls and was named the NLC Co-Player and the Defensive Player of the Year. She ended her playing career ranked 10th all-time in NCAA history with 3.47 draw controls per game.

A multiple Academic all-conference honoree during her career, Hannon was also awarded the Jacksonville Athletic Department’s Outstanding Senior Student-Athlete Award for 2012-13. A nursing major, she graduated this spring with a 3.8 GPA.

In just four short years, Mindy McCord has transformed Jacksonville from a first year program to the highest scoring team in the nation. This spring McCord led the team to even greater heights as the Dolphins made their first ever NCAA Tournament appearance after winning the inaugural Atlantic Sun regular season and tournament championships. Ranked in the LaxPower.com computer ratings top 25 throughout the season, Jacksonville compiled a 13-6 record while leading the country in scoring, caused turnovers, and ground balls this season.

The Dolphins 15.68 goals per game marks the third consecutive season in which the program has had the highest scoring attack in the country, a feat accomplished by only Maryland (1999-01), Virginia (2002-04) and Northwestern (2005-08) in the NCAA record books.  Meanwhile the 13.32 caused turnovers per game forced by Jacksonville are the most since 2009 (Loyola [Md.]) which also marks the last time a NCAA team had as many as the Dolphin’s 25.58 ground balls per game (2009, Lehigh).

McCord picked up her 100th career coaching win during the 2012 season and was honored at the IWLCA Coaches Honors Banquet this past November. In 12 seasons as a head coach she has compiled a 120-78 record, including a 50-26 mark over the past four seasons at Jacksonville.

2013 IWLCA Division I Senior All-Star Game Participants:

Division I South Squad     
Makenzie Hommel Duke University A
Casey Ancarrow James Madison University A
Dina Jackson Georgetown Universty A
Sam Stevenson The University of Richmond A
Katie Oliverio University of Louisville A
Jasmine DePompeo United State Naval Academy A
Stephany Parcell Temple University A
Julie McBrien Lehigh University M
Maddie Poplawski University of Pennsylvania M
Zaynib Hamze University of Detroit Mercy M
Maddie Carrellas College Holy Cross M
Melanie Sarcinello La Salle University M
Charlotte Swavola Temple University M
Jamie Fahey University of Maryland Baltimore County D
Brijet Mall United State Naval Academy D
Alex Burns Old Dominion University D
Tara Coyle The University of Richmond D
Rachel Hannon Jacksonville University D
Kim Kolarik University of Virginia GK
Lily Kalata Rutgers University GK

Division I - North Squad    
Danielle Etrasco Boston University A
Rachel Burek University of Albany A
Janine Hillier Stony Brook University A
Cori Murray University of Massachusetts A
Jenny Granger  University of Notre Dame  A
Joanna Dalton Loyola University A
Morgan Leonard Canisius College M
Chloe Mangan Fairfield University M
Demmianne Cook Stony Brook University M
Katherine Hunsberger Binghamton University M
Lindsey Morgan Canisius College M
Charlotte Davis  Princeton University M
Kelly Buechel Columbia University D
Gianna D'Urso Monmouth University D
Colleen Shea Penn State University D
Caroline Rehfuss Princeton University D
Ashley Moulton Loyola University D
Alexa Demski  Towson University D
Ellie Hilling University of Notre Dame GK
Jess Hicks George Washington University GK