Coach of the Year Jim Mitchell Guides Two Varsity Eight Boats to All-MAAC Honors
WEST WINDSOR, N.J. – The Jacksonville University women’s rowing program is less than 24 hours away from competing in the MAAC Championships and yet there is already good news to be spread. On Friday afternoon, the league announced head coach Jim Mitchell as the Women’s Coach of the Year and named JU’s Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Eight crews to the 2014 Rowing All-MAAC Teams.

A frequent MAAC Boat of the Week, the Dolphins V8 has fronted a phenomenal spring season.  In late March, the crew raced in two heats and surpassed Stetson and Drake for first-place finishes and then at the FIRAs, the same Jacksonville boat was a few seconds shy of a No. 1 finish.
Varsity Eight

Bow: Jordyn Clary; 2: Veronika Stasaityte; 3: Jessica Mathews; 4: Victoria Hernandez; 5: Cat Plesko; 6: Jules Welch; 7: Stefanie Keeler; 8: Danielle Keeler; Coxswain: Maycee Dioneda

Jacksonville’s Second Varsity Eight crew has also been quite successful. Taking on the Hatters and the Bulldogs at Lake Beresford, the boat finished a full 12 seconds before Drake en route to a race win and an eventual Boat of the Week nod.
The Fins split the league honors with Marist and Fairfield as each was named to the conference team.
Second Varsity Eight

Bow: Sydney Warpness; 2: Jodi Coia; 3: Ashley Hirt; 4: Allie Rector; 5: Victoria Tkacz; 6: Jenna Holt; 7: Laura Stevenson; 8: Anna Palmer; Coxswain: Lauren Whetzel

With more than two decades of coaching experience under his belt which includes 11 years at JU, no one is more deserving of the Women’s Coach of the Year honor than Jim Mitchell. His resume with both the men’s and women’s teams speak for itself and this season alone he has already guided the women to a state title, a point title, three conference weekly honors and most recently had eight All-Academic recipients.

Tomorrow, April 26, Coach Mitchell and the Dolphins go for another season accolade – MAAC Champion. Racing begins with the Dolphins Varsity Four taking on Canisius, Fairfield, Drake, Iona, Marist, Robert Morrison and Stetson at 10:30 a.m.