Student-Athletes Honored at All-Sports Banquet

April 10, 2003

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - The Jacksonville University athletic department celebrated the culmination of a successful year in both academics and athletics at the Dolphins' 11th Annual All-Sports Banquet Thursday night at Swisher Gymnasium on the JU campus.

Each team awarded its MVP Award to its respective winner, while special presentations were made to Vanessa Illanes (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) for being tabbed Atlantic Sun Player of the Year in women's soccer. In addition, football's Jon Turner (Melbourne, Fla.) was recognized for earning All-America honors, while football's Kevin Womble (Bonifay, Fla.) was cited for earning First-Team District 3 Academic All-America honors. Senior Monique Tubbs (Holbrook, Mass.) of the women's track team was also recognized for becoming JU's first four-time All-American, while basketball's Kevin Sheppard (St. Croix, Virgin Islands) and Kat Sungy (Arvada, Colo.) were honored for eclipsing the 1,000-point milestones for their respective careers. The final recognition of the night went to athletic director and head basketball coach Hugh Durham for eclipsing the 600-win plateau for his career, while coaching in his 1,000th game.

Durham honored 136 student-athletes for earning a grade point average of 3.0 or better during the fall semester, while 43 student-athletes were honored for earning Dean's List distinctions. Durham also presented the women's cross country team with the Athletic Director's GPA Award for having the highest cumulative grade point average over the past two semesters.

The inaugural President's Award, which will be presented annually to the senior male and female student-athlete who has recorded the highest cumulative grade point average, while participating in his or her respective sport for at least two years, was awarded to Andy Allen (Jacksonville/Wolfson) of the men's golf team and Laura Winn (Wilmington, Mass.) of the women's track & cross country squad.

The Douglas B. Milne Sportsmanship Award, which is given annually to the student-athlete who represents the highest standard of sportsmanship and has demonstrated excellence in athletics, academics and leadership, was presented to both Steve Command (Brighton, Mich.) from the men's soccer team and Brooke Moore (Tampa, Fla.) from the women's soccer team.

The SAAC Outstanding Student-Athlete Award, which is presented annually by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee to the top senior student-athlete at JU who has excelled at the highest level in the classroom and in his or her respective sport, while serving in the community for the betterment of mankind, was awarded to Kevin Womble (Bonifay, Fla.), a junior offensive lineman on the football team.

With nearly 400 student-athletes, coaches and staff in attendance, the banquet featured a dinner catered by Carrabba's Italian Grill and a 40-minute slide show highlighting all 18 Dolphin athletic teams. Other special guests included JU president David Harlow and long-time JU supporter Doug Milne.

2002-03 JU Dolphin MVP's
Baseball - Bryan Williams (from 2002 season; 2003 MVP to be determined later)
Men's Basketball - Kevin Sheppard
Women's Basketball - Kat Sungy
Men's Cross Country - Tony Strother
Women's Cross Country - Lindsay Moffenbier
Football - Jon Turner & Jeremy Kearson
Men's Golf - Luis Rivera
Women's Golf - Ashley Grier
Men's Rowing - Bojan Fredotovic
Women's Rowing - Joey DeSantis
Men's Soccer - Greg Williams
Women's Soccer - Vanessa Illanes
Softball - Bridget Starry
Men's Tennis - Ben Birkmann
Women's Tennis - Veronika Subertova
Track and Field  - Monique Tubbs (Indoor) & TBA (Outdoor)
Volleyball - Radka Dimitrova