Student-Athletes Honored at All-Sports Banquet

April 20, 2004

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - The Jacksonville University athletic department celebrated the culmination of a successful year in both academics and athletics at the Dolphins' 12th Annual All-Sports Banquet Tuesday night at Swisher Gymnasium on the JU campus.

Each team awarded its MVP Award to its respective winner, while a special presentation was made to women's soccer's Inge Heiremans (Tremelo, Belgium) for becoming the first female athlete at JU to earn First-Team Academic All-America honors. In addition, football's Emmett Hunter (Largo, Fla.) and Ryan Long (Jacksonville/Orange Park) were recognized for earning All-America honors, while football's Justin Knowles (Perry, Fla.) was cited for being selected a Coca-Cola Community All-American for his community service contributions. Hunter was also recognized for becoming JU's all-time leading rusher and volleyball's Radka Dimitrova (Sofia, Bulgaria) was honored for eclipsing 1,000 career kills. Basketball's Haminn Quaintance (Sarasota, Fla.) and track & field's Stephanie Jeffers (Marston Mills, Mass.) were recognized for being tabbed Atlantic Sun Conference Freshmen of the Year in their respective sports, while head basketball coach Hugh Durham received a commemorative ball for becoming JU's all-time winningest Division I coach.

Vice President for Student Life and acting Athletic Director Dr. John Balog honored 181 student-athletes for earning a grade point average of 3.0 or better during the fall semester, while 82 student-athletes were honored for earning Dean's List distinctions. Balog also presented the men's tennis team with the Athletic Department's GPA Award for having the highest cumulative grade point average over the past two semesters.

The University Award, which is presented annually to the senior male and female student-athlete who has recorded the highest cumulative grade point average, while participating in his or her respective sport for at least two years, was awarded to Ben Birkmann (Bremen, Germany) of the men's tennis team and Kristina Puck (Hamburg, Germany) of the women's tennis squad.

The Douglas B. Milne Sportsmanship Award, which is given annually to the top male and female student-athletes who have represented the highest standard of sportsmanship and have demonstrated excellence in athletics, academics and leadership, was presented to Dianna Korcak (Clearwater, Fla.), a senior shortstop on the Dolphin softball team, and Brett Surrency (Gainesville, Fla.), a senior defender on the JU soccer squad.

The SAAC Outstanding Student-Athlete Award, which is presented annually by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee to the top senior student-athlete at JU who has excelled at the highest level in the classroom and in his or her respective sport, while serving in the community for the betterment of mankind, was awarded to Peter DeFrank (Nutley, N.J.), a senior coxswain on the JU rowing team, which just captured gold at the SIRA Championships.

With nearly 400 student-athletes, coaches and staff in attendance, the banquet featured a dinner catered by Carrabba's Italian Grill. Other special guests included JU acting president Dr. Catherine Morgan and long-time JU supporter Doug Milne.

2003-04 JU Dolphin MVP's
Baseball - To be determined later
Men's Basketball - Haminn Quaintance
Women's Basketball - Yolisha Jackson
Cheerleading - Elliot Henley
Men's Cross Country - Jason Coates
Women's Cross Country - Lindsey Moffenbier
Football - Emmett Hunter
Men's Golf - Russell Knox
Women's Golf - Ashley Grier
Men's Rowing - Sean Duffey
Women's Rowing - Lauren Calhoun
Men's Soccer - Brett Surrency
Women's Soccer - Inge Heiremans
Softball - Dianna Korcak
Men's Tennis - Martin Hehensteiger
Women's Tennis - Kristina Puck
Track and Field  - Safiya Davy & Andrea Pressley (Co-MVP's)
Volleyball - Danielle Neville