JU student-athletes honored at All-Sports Banquet

April 17, 2007


The Jacksonville University athletic department celebrated the culmination of a successful year in both academics and athletics at the Dolphins' 15th Annual All-Sports Banquet Tuesday night at the Jacksonville Garden Club.

Each team awarded its MVP Award to its respective winner, while special recognitions were made to the Dolphin women's soccer team for winning the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament and advancing to the NCAA Regionals and the track and field squad for winning its second straight A-Sun Indoor Track and Field Championship.

In addition, Matt Dobbins (baseball), Natasha Harvey (track and field), Russell Knox (men's golf) and Robson Noel (football) were recognized for All- America honors, while Eva Stoilova of volleyball was honored for eclipsing 1,000 career digs and 1,000 career kills. Football's Jerry Brant (career rushing yards), women's soccer's Michelle Kmiotek (career saves & shutouts) and Janine Palumbo (career hits & RBI) were honored for setting program records in their respective sports. Indoor track & field head coach Ron Grigg was also recognized for being named Atlantic Sun Conference Coach of the Year for the second straight year.

Athletic Director Alan Verlander honored 159 student- athletes for earning a grade point average of 3.0 or better during the fall semester, while 64 student- athletes were honored for earning Dean's List distinctions and five student-athletes garnered President's Honor Roll accolades with a 4.0.

The Department of Athletics Academic Excellence Award, which is presented annually to the senior male and female student-athlete who has recorded the highest cumulative grade point average, while participating in his or her respective sport for at least two years, was awarded to Dane Weathers of football and Audrey Sefton of the women's rowing squad.

The Promo Depot Team GPA Award, which is given annually to the JU athletic program which has recorded the highest cumulative grade point average during the prior academic year, was presented to the women's cross country team.

The Douglas B. Milne Sportsmanship Award, which is given annually to the top student-athlete who has represented the highest standard of sportsmanship and has demonstrated excellence in athletics, academics and leadership, was presented to Matt Dobbins, a junior member of the Dolphin baseball team.

The Senior Student-Athlete Award, which is presented annually to the top student-athlete at JU who has excelled at the highest level in the classroom and in his or her respective sport, while serving to benefit the community, was awarded to Lindsay George, a senior on the women's track and field squad.

With nearly 400 student-athletes, coaches and staff in attendance, the banquet featured a dinner catered by Cypress Catering. Other special guests included Douglas Milne and several members of the JUAA.

2006-07 JU Dolphin MVP's

Baseball - To be determined later
Men's Basketball - Jesse Kimbrough
Women's Basketball - Ashley Williams
Cheerleading - April Burch
Men's Cross Country - Trebor DeVerter
Women's Cross Country - Alyssa Deal
Women's Indoor Track and Field - Janita Ocana
Football - Jerry Brant
Men's Golf - Russell Knox
Women's Golf - Heather Fudge
Men's Rowing - Kristen Sukolsky
Women's Rowing - Kate Burke
Men's Soccer - Tommy Krizanovic
Women's Soccer - Michelle Kmiotek
Softball - To be determined later
Men's Tennis - To be determined later
Women's Outdoor Track and Field - To be determined later
Women's Tennis - Emese Sulyos
Volleyball - Stevenique Richardson