MONDAY, APRIL 21, 2008
JU student-athletes honored at All-Sports Banquet

April 21, 2008


The Jacksonville University athletic department celebrated the culmination of a successful year in both academics and athletics at the Dolphins' 16th Annual All-Sports Banquet Monday night at the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena.

Each team awarded its MVP Award to its respective winner, while special recognitions were made to the track and field squad for winning its third straight A- Sun Indoor Track and Field Championship and the women's tennis team which won its second consecutive conference regular season and tournament title.

In addition, Natasha Harvey (track and field) was recognized for All-America honors and Ashley Williams (women's basketball) was presented with a jersey and plaque for setting three career records (points, field goals made and blocks). Football's Chris Horton (career passing yards), men's golf's Russell Knox (lowest stroke average) and Duncan Stewart (most career victories) were also honored for setting program records in their respective sports.

Indoor track & field head coach Ron Grigg and men's soccer head coach Mike Johnson were each recognized for being named Atlantic Sun Conference "Coach of the Year."

Director of Athletics Alan Verlander honored 171 student-athletes for earning a grade point average of 3.0 or better during the fall semester, while 74 student- athletes were honored for earning Dean's List distinctions and 14 student-athletes garnered President's Honor Roll accolades with a 4.0.

The Department of Athletics Academic Excellence Award, which is presented annually to the senior male and female student-athlete who has recorded the highest cumulative grade point average, while participating in his or her respective sport for at least two years, was awarded to Anton Axelsson of men's soccer and Adelina Anderson of the women's rowing squad.

The Promo Depot Team GPA Award, which is given annually to the JU athletic program which has recorded the highest cumulative grade point average during the prior academic year, was presented to the women's tennis team.

The Douglas B. Milne Sportsmanship Award, which is given annually to the top student-athlete who has represented the highest standard of sportsmanship and has demonstrated excellence in athletics, academics and leadership, was presented to Anton Axelsson, a senior member of the men's soccer team.

The Senior Student-Athlete Award, which is presented annually to the top student-athlete at JU who has excelled at the highest level in the classroom and in his or her respective sport, while serving to benefit the community, was awarded to Matt Dobbins, a senior on the baseball team and Louisa Ward, a senior on the women's soccer team.

With nearly 400 student-athletes, coaches and staff in attendance, the banquet featured a dinner catered by Levy Restaurants. Other special guests included Douglas Milne and several members of the JUAA and JU Board of Trustees.

The event was also captured live via video streaming and can be purchased for viewing through ASun.TV on JU

2007-08 JU Dolphin MVP's

Baseball - To be determined later
Men's Basketball - Ben Smith
Women's Basketball - Ashley Williams
Cheerleading - Latonya Wimberly
Men's Cross Country - Charlie Allen
Women's Cross Country - Anastasia Fokina
Football - Michael Jenner
Men's Golf - To be determined later
Women's Golf - Therese Karlsson
Men's Rowing - To be determined later
Women's Rowing - To be determined later
Men's Soccer - Anton Axelsson
Women's Soccer - Keri Zwikker
Softball - To be determined later
Men's Tennis - Francisco Riveroll
Women's Track and Field - Natasha Harvey
Women's Tennis - Lena Willi
Volleyball - Shelley Walroth