Basketball's Haminn Quaintance Voted First-Team All-Atlantic Sun

March 1, 2005

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Jacksonville University sophomore Haminn Quaintance (Sarasota, Fla.) was voted First-Team All-Atlantic Sun Conference by the league's head coaches today, marking the second consecutive season he has earned all-conference honors. The 6-foot-7 forward averaged a team-high 13.6 points, 8.9 rebounds, 3.2 assists, 2.4 blocks and 2.0 steals per game, while ranking among the league leaders in eight statistical categories. Quaintance, who was the only underclassmen selected to the first team, earned Second-Team Atlantic Sun All-conference honors and was voted A-Sun Freshman of the Year last season.

After starting the 2004-05 season slow because of a hand injury, Quaintance tore through the Atlantic Sun Conference, posting nine double-doubles and scoring in double figures in 20 games. He finished the regular season ranked 11th in the A-Sun in scoring, second in rebounding, 11th in assists, second in blocks and seventh in steals, while shooting 51.7 percent from the field, which ranked sixth in the league. Quaintance's 8.9 rebounds per game also rank 33rd nationally, while his 2.4 blocks per game rank 29th among all Division I players.

Quaintance is the first Dolphin since Ronnie Murphy in 1984 and 1985 to earn all-conference honors as a freshman and sophomore. Murphy earned First-Team All-Sun Belt Conference honors as a freshman and Honorable-Mention All-Sun Belt honors as a sophomore. The only other player in school history to accomplish the feat was Otis Smith (1983-84), who joins Murphy as JU's only four-time all-conference selection.

Last season, Quaintance became the first player in JU history to lead the team in scoring, rebounding, blocks, steals and field goal percentage, which he repeated as a sophomore. Despite playing in just 53 career games at JU, he already ranks third on the Dolphin all-time blocks chart with 143 rejections, trailing only Artis Gilmore and Otis Smith. Quaintance's 26-point, 21-rebound performance against Stetson was JU's first 20-point, 20-rebound effort since 1981 (Mike Hackett) and the most rebounds for a Dolphins since 1993 (Willie Fisher).

Florida Atlantic's Mike Bell was chosen as A-Sun Player of the Year. Bell averaged a league-best 19.1 points and 9.3 rebounds per game, while posting a league-high 14 double-doubles. Gardner-Webb's Rick Scruggs was tabbed the league's coach of the year after leading the Bulldogs to a share of the A-Sun regular-season title, while Gardner-Webb's Tim Jennings was voted A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year. Justin Hare from Belmont was selected the Atlantic Sun Freshman of the Year. Joining Bell and Quaintance as first-team selections are Marcus Brown (UCF), Brian Bender (Gardner-Webb) and Will Emerson (Mercer). The second team includes Jennings, Anthony Register (Stetson), Josh Peppers (UCF), Gary Johnson (UCF) and Eddie Ard (Lipscomb).

Joining Hare and Ard on the All-Freshmen Team are Ruell Pringle (Campbell), Tywain McTyer (Florida Atlantic) and Will Peeples (Belmont).

The fourth-seeded Dolphins (15-12, 11-9 A-Sun) are preparing for their first-round game of the Sun Trust Atlantic Sun Championship (Nashville, Tenn.) on Thursday against fifth-seeded Lipscomb (16-11, 11-9 A-Sun) live on Comcast Sports Southeast TV at 9:15 p.m. EST. The winner of the JU vs. Lipscomb game will play the winner of the #1 Gardner-Webb vs. #8 Troy game Friday at 7:00 p.m. EST.

2005 Atlantic Sun
All-Conference Honors

First Team Player School Pos Ht Wt Cl Mike Bell Fla. Atlantic F 6-9 210 Sr. Marcus Brown Georgia St. F 6-7 220 Sr. Brian Bender Gardner-Web F 6-6 210 Jr. Haminn Quaintance JU F 6-7 195 So. Will Emerson Mercer F/C 6-10 220 Jr.

Second Team Player School Pos Ht Wt Cl Tim Jennings Gardner-Webb G 6-3 190 Jr. Anthony Register Stetson G 6-2 180 Jr. Josh Peppers UCF G/F 6-6 200 So. Gary Johnson UCF G 6-2 180 Sr. Brian Fisk Lipscomb G 6-2 205 So.

All-Freshmen Player School Pos Ht Wt Justin Hare Belmont G 6-3 180 Ruell Pringle Campbell G 6-1 195 Tywain McTyer Fla. Atlantic G 6-0 185 Will Peeples Belmont F 6-6 215 Eddie Ard Lipscomb G/F 6-5 215

Player of the Year: Mike Bell, Florida Atlantic Defensive Player of the Year: Tim Jennings, GWU Freshman of the Year: Justin Hare, Belmont Coach of the Year: Rick Scruggs, Gardner-Webb