Dolphins To Join Pioneer Football League In 2001

Sept. 28, 2000

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Jacksonville University has accepted an invitation to join the Pioneer Football League (PFL) in the fall of 2001, a conference of NCAA I-AA non-scholarship teams that stretches from coast to coast. The league will expand to nine teams in 2001 with Austin Peay, Davidson, Jacksonville and Morehead State joining current PFL members Butler, Dayton, Drake, San Diego and Valparaiso.

The Dolphins will play in the PFL's four-team Southern division along with Davidson, Austin Peay and Morehead State. The Northern division will be comprised of Butler, Dayton, Drake, San Diego and Valparaiso. Each division will conduct round-robin competition, which will solely dtermine the division champion. Selected cross-divisional games will be scheduled annually, but will not count in divisional standings.

The PFL will establish a championship game featuring the champions of each division. The first title game will be played on November 17, 2001, at the site of the Northern division's champion.

"Joining a conference gives us a measuring stick to see where our program is," said JU head coach Steve Gilbert. "It also gives is a chance to play for a championship each year, and will help us create rivalries among other non-scholarship programs."

The PFL, which was formed in 1991, is one of only two Division I conferences (Gateway Football Conference) that sponsors football as its only sport. The PFL is committed to operating a quality football program for the benefit of student-athletes and the university community.

The Pioneer Football League

Southern Division          Northern Division
Austin Peay (Tenn.)        Butler (Ind.)
Davidson (N.C.)            Dayton (Ohio)
Jacksonville (Fla.)        Drake (Iowa)
Morehead State (Ky.)       San Diego (Calif.)
                           Valparaiso (Ind.)