SUNDAY, MARCH 16, 2008
Rowing places second out of 11 programs at Tampa Mayor's Cup

March 16, 2008

TAMPA, Fla. - Click here for results

The JU rowing teams tallied six medals and placed second out of 11 programs in the team title as the Dolphins opened the 2008 spring season at the Tampa Mayor's Cup, Saturday on the Seddon Channel.

The Dolphins took home a gold medal in the Women's Junior Varsity 4, silver medals in the Men's Junior Varsity 4, Men's Junior Varsity 8, Women's Freshman 8 and Men's Varsity 4 and a bronze medal in the Women's Varsity 8 and Men's Varsity 4. In the team standings, JU finished behind Temple for the Mayor's Cup but placed ahead of Yale for second place.

"For our first competition, I think it was a productive regatta for us," said JU director of rowing Jim Mitchell. "We had a good showing by all of our boats and it says a lot for our program and coaching staff to finish second overall in our first regatta of the season.

"Even with the good finish, we learned what areas of racing we need to focus on in practice. The coaching staff is looking forward to starting our spring break training camp this week where we are confident we will find a lot of speed."

The Women's Junior Varsity 4 composed of coxswain Amanda Soukup, Kelly Burke, Rachael Pacheco, Jill Carmody and Kate Gout finished first with a time of 5:56.1 ahead of Emory (7:07.5).

The Men's Junior Varsity 4 with coxswain Anthony Magro, Erich Negaard, Stefan Negaard, John Gerety and Joey Civello placed second with a time of 5:14.3 behind Temple (5:09.9).

The Men's Varsity 4 "A" made up of coxswain Jessica Marchant, Adam Heine, Greg Boccieri, Chris Carter and Patrick Lura placed second with a mark of 5:09.6 behind Marietta (5:01.7). The Men's Varsity 4 "B" with coxswain T.J. Urbanek, Richmond Jones, Sebastian Kuhn, Bradley Woodrum and Tyler Humphrey finished third in the event with a time of 5:11.7.

The Women's Freshman 8 with coxswain Claire Futo, Candace Barber, Danielle Fournier, Julia Fairchild, Karylina Greer, Jill Carmody, Samantha Newell, Morgan McTiernan and Elise Perna placed second with a time of 4:41.7 behind Temple (4:38.5).

The Men's Junior Varsity 8 composed of coxswain Anthony Magro, Erich Negaard, Stefan Negaard, Ryan O'Donnell, Garrett Markle, Matt Repici, Luke Meers, John Gerety and Joey Civello placed third with a mark of 4:32.9 behind Yale (4:28.7) and Temple (4:32.6).

The Women's Varsity 8 with coxswain Jill Sarno, Candace Barber, Jessica Tuten, Stephanie Bechtold, Danielle Fournier, Julia Fairchild, Karylina Greer, Jennifer Barker and Keely Wells finished third with a time of 5:18.7 behind Temple (5:13.1) and Marietta (5:16.5).

The Dolphins will next begin Spring Break Training Camp this week before hosting the Petrakis Cup at the Negaard Rowing Center on March 22.