Softball Loses to Hawai'i, 3-1, in Paradise Classic Finale

Feb. 7, 2005

Box Score

HONOLULU - The Jacksonville University softball team fell in its final meeting of the Hawai'i Paradise Classic, 3-1, to host Hawaii Sunday afternoon at Rainbow Wahine Softball Stadium. JU dropped to 1-4 on the season, while Hawaii moved to 3-1.

The Dolphins fell behind in the bottom of the second, when Hawai'i had a two-out rally sparked by a Kate Robinson double. Kristi Yoshizawa singled to right field to bring home Robinson, giving the Rainbow Wahine a 1-0 lead.

Hawai'i scored again in the bottom of the third, as Noelle Izumi singled up the middle and advanced to third on subsequent wild pitches by freshman hurler Shannon Jensen (Callahan, Fla.). Ashley Ruff singled down the left field line to bring in Izumi, putting Hawaii up, 2-0.

JU answered in the top of the fourth, with junior Stephanie Farabee (Jacksonville/Arlington County Day) reaching first on an error by Ruff. She advanced to second on sophomore Stephanie Beasley's (Tallahassee, Fla.) grounder to first. Jensen then helped her own cause, hitting a ball to right center to drive in Farabee, putting the Dolphins down by one, 2-1.

However, the Rainbow Wahine scored again in the bottom of the fifth. After Tara Harbert reached on a Jensen fielding error to start the inning, Tracie Uchima sacrificed to move Harbert to second. Izumi singled to right to bring Harbert around, giving the Rainbow Wahine a 3-1 advantage.

Jensen gave up two earned runs on six hits in six innings of work for her second loss of the season. Shannon Tabion surrendered only five hits in seven innings to pick up her first win of the year. Farabee was JU's lone representative on the Hawaii Paradise Classic All-Tournament Team.

The Dolphins host Savannah State on Wednesday, Feb. 9 at 5 p.m. in a doubleheader at the JU Softball Complex.

Jacksonville (1-4)0001000-153
Hawaii (3-1)011010x-362

WP - Tabion (1-0). LP - Jensen (0-2).
2B - Redfern (JU), Robinson (UH). SH - Freitag (JU), Uchima (UH). SB - Izumi (UH). CS - Izumi (UH).
E - Beasley (JU), Jensen (JU), Houston (JU), Ruff 2 (UH). WP - Jensen 2 (JU).