Stellar Second Round Propels Dolphins in The Hayt

Stellar Second Round Propels Dolphins in The Hayt

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. – A tournament-best 11-under 277 came off the clubs of the Jacksonville University men's golf team Sunday afternoon, allowing the squad to move into second place in day one of The John Hayt Invitational.

Senior Raul Pereda carded his lowest round of the season and second-lowest of his four-year career on the second flight, dealing a six-under 66 to finish day one seven-under 137. The performance included an eagle on the par-5 11th hole, four birdies, and no rounds over-par.

 The no. 82 ranked collegiate golfer in the nation sits tied for second individually, deadlocked with Purdue's Brian Carlson (no. 72), and one stroke behind Tennessee's Lorenzo Scalise (no. 34).

JU finished five-under 571 on the day, two strokes behind no. 24 North Carolina (288+281=569) for the top spot. The Dolphins sat in sixth place following the conclusion of the opening round at the Sawgrass Country Club, carding a 294 to begin play. The four-spot jump came thanks to under-par showings from four members of the 'Phins five-man squad in the second round.

Senior Elliott Fullalove (73+70=143) and Freshman Michael Sakane (74+71=143) each scored five birdies on the later 18 holes, shooting 70 and 71 respectively. Fullalove enters day two tied for 12th with Furman's Connor Bruns, while Sakane is knotted with nine other golfers for 19th place.

Rounding out the team's five-man squad were Aaeri Krishnan (76+73-149) and Eduardo Carrete (0+70=70). Additionally, junior Sam Uhland (81+78=159) competed as an individual.  

After battling winds in excess of 20 MPH on the par-72 6966 yard oceanside course, the Dolphins will look to secure their fourth top-2 finish of the season in The Hayt's final round on Monday, March 19.

JU will tee off from hole one beginning at 9:15 a.m. in round three's double-tee start, competing alongside the first place Tar Heels and Liberty University, who sits in third.

Full Results

Jacksonville Round Three Tee Times (hole 1):

9:15 – Eduardo Carrete
9:24 – Aaeri Krishnan
9:33 – Michael Sakane
9:42 – Elliott Fullalove
9:51 – Raul Pereda

7:45 – Sam Uhland (individual, hole 10)