29 'Phins Earn SoCon Honor Roll Accolades

Team celebration

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Nearly 70 percent of Jacksonville University men's lacrosse student-athletes achieved a 3.0 or higher GPA throughout the 2017-18 academic year and were recognized by the Southern Conference as part of the SoCon Academic Honor Roll, Tuesday afternoon.

The academic honor roll originated in 1988-89, when SoCon athletic directors established the award as a way to recognize the league's outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in varsity sports and posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher, were eligible the entire academic year and were members of the final squad lists.

In total, 29 of 43 Dolphins maintained a 3.0 GPA or higher throughout the 2017-18 academic year, with seven earning a Commissioner's Medal for achieving a 3.8 GPA or higher, and one with a 4.0 GPA. Breaking down the Dolphin SoCon Honor Roll members by class, six were seniors, eight were juniors, five were sophomores, and 10 were freshmen.

A marketing major, redshirt-freshman close defenseman Tommy Barnhorst was one of just six men's lacrosse players in the league to achieve a 4.0 GPA throughout the year.

Along with Barnhorst, six others earned Commissioner's Medal accolades: sophomore goalie Adam Baker (3.80 GPA in journalism), junior attackman Zach Crotty (3.93 GPA in international business), freshman attackman Michael Dean (3.93 GPA in finance), redshirt-senior attackman Mitchell Parker (3.80 GPA while pursuing his MBA), sophomore attackman Brett Reilly (3.83 GPA in marketing), and freshman defenseman Caleb Schmidt (3.93 GPA in chemistry).

Along with Parker, senior short-stick defensive midfielder Ryan Beville (3.20 GPA in finance), senior attackman McLean Chicquen (3.14 GPA in finance), and redshirt-junior defenseman Max Hartong (3.79 GPA in finance) were all named to the Honor Roll. All four served as team captains in 2018.

Recently announced team captains for the 2019 season were also represented with junior attackman Eric Applegate (3.10 GPA in business administration) and junior midfielder Hayden La Vangie (3.30 GPA in international business).

Three other seniors were named to the Honor Roll, including attackman Shawn Ewert (3.43 GPA in pre-business), midfielder/face off specialist Hunter Forbes (3.75 GPA while pursuing his MBA), and goalie Ben Gleichenhaus (3.33 GPA in management).

Additionally, four more juniors were listed: redshirt-junior defenseman Sam Dovan (3.42 GPA in social sciences), defenseman Andrew Mitchell (3.03 GPA in sports business), midfielder Pat Poulos (3.43 GPA in managment), and goalie Hunter Sells (3.79 GPA in management).

Fellow sophomores who made the Honor Roll include midfielder Andrew Davis (3.77 GPA in sports business), attackman Alec Drosos (3.38 GPA in computing sciences), and attackman Dwayne Mattushik (3.77 GPA in finance).

Seven other freshman named to the list included attackman Will Burckley (3.70 GPA, undeclared major), defenseman Spenser Clapp (3.39 GPA in mechanical engineering), midfielder Gavin Dembeck (3.29 GPA in business administration), long-stick midfielder Mack Dickie (3.22 GPA in business administration), midfielder Jack Dolan (3.37 GPA in marketing), defenseman Gavin Legg (3.71 GPA in aviation management and flight operations), and defenseman Tyler Morris (3.09 GPA in mechanical engineering).

Parker, Forbes, Hartong, Sells, Mattushik, Reilly, and Barnhorst previously earned Academic All-SoCon recognition for maintaining a 3.3 cumulative GPA.

The Dolphins finished the 2018 season with an 8-7 overall mark – its first winning season in five years – and made their first appearance in the SoCon Tournament Championship game.

For the full release from the SoCon, visit SoConSports.com.