Dolphin Dozen: Amanda Detmer

Dolphin Dozen: Amanda Detmer

The Dolphin Dozen series of interviews conducted by "Voice of the Dolphins" Scott Manze continues with senior women's golfer Amanda Detmer. She is entering her fourth year in the program. You can listen to the interview or read the transcript below.

  1. Do you have superstitions or routines before every round?

When I'm about to play a round, I always have to go through my routine of going on the range first, and afterward I'll go and putt. Then I'll take some time to talk to my teammates, talk to my family and just get myself into the zone. Some superstitions going into the tournament are that I always have my certain ball marker, I always have my certain socks that I wear, my certain earrings I wear. There are a few things that I wear that I'm superstitious about.

Do you ever change any of those up if you're perhaps coming off of a tough round, or do you pretty much stick with them through thick and thin?

Usually, I don't change it. I've had the same ball marker for eight years and I wear the same earrings that I've always worn for a long time. I don't like to change anything up because it kind of psyches me out a little bit. [laughs]

Golf is very much a mental game, so that makes a lot of sense.

  1. What is your greatest athletic or academic achievement so far?

I would say, athletically, my biggest accomplishment was winning two college events. My goal through college was to win at least one, so to win two was very meaningful to me. Academically, to be able to say that I graduated college with my undergrad in three years and I'm able to start my master's this year, my fourth year, and I'll get an MBA within four years. To me, that was something very special because I didn't think I could do it, and then I ended up doing it along with golf.

How? That's my biggest question, how did you manage to do that?

I did it with taking 18 credits some semesters, I studied abroad this summer so I got some credits through that. I also came in with some credits, so it all added up. I worked really hard last year and over the summer to make it happen, now I'm just taking a little bit extra each eight weeks so I can finish in the spring.

  1. When did you start playing golf?

I started playing golf when I was about in sixth grade. A lot of my guy friends played and I wanted to play with them, but I wasn't ever good enough. My dad kept taking me to see different swing coaches, to tournaments, and pushing me and practicing with me and I go to the point where I was able to compete with the guys. When I was able to compete with the guys, that made me want to beat the guys and once I had that goal in mind, I worked even harder and here I am today.

  1. If you weren't playing golf, would you play another sport?

I'm not really sure, because I'm not super athletic when it comes to running [laughs] and running is about in every other sport, so probably not. I just love golf so much. It makes me sad that this is my last year. I might try and play more afterward, just see how I feel at the end of this year. So, we'll see.

Isn't the great thing about golf is that you can keep playing it forever, even if you aren't playing at a professional level per say?

That's true, which I'm going to continue to play when I'm, you know, like 60 years old, but it's the competitive feeling that I like. You know, that drive for competitiveness, it pushes me to work harder. I really like that part, I like practicing, I like getting better. That's some of the reason that I'd like to continue [professionally] when I'm done, but if not, I'm going to continue to play all the time.

  1. Do you have a number one song on your hype/pregame playlist right now?

No, I usually go through phases where I have a favorite song and then I play it on repeat, and repeat and repeat until I get tired of it, so usually it changes weekly.

[Laughs] I like that though. Whatever I'm into usually changes by the hour, so I'm with you there.

  1. What drew you to come to JU?

I'm originally from Indiana. It's cold there in the winter and the spring as well, it doesn't get warm until the end of March and that's when our main season is. I really liked the fact that I'd be able to play in warm weather year-round. Also, we get to practice at TPC Sawgrass, which is a major step up from my little public course that I have with no practice facility. I really just liked the atmosphere at JU. I liked our coach, I liked the girls and I really liked everything that we had to offer. A small school is something that I really kind of wanted because I'm so on my academics, I don't think I could have handled being at a big school with 300 classmates and missing class and the professor not even knowing who I am. I really just liked a bunch of aspects about JU.

  1. You said your major, undergrad, was International Business, what drew you to that?

I think what drew me to that was my mom, she's from Brazil so we've always traveled a lot, and my dad, he has a granite business, so he's gone to Brazil often, he's gone to China, he's done a lot of traveling for his business. It's always been in the back of my mind that maybe I'll work with him one day. It was always something that, I wanted to study business, but I think the international aspect always drew me.

And you had the opportunity to go abroad and get a lot of experience with that this summer.

When I was in Spain I had the opportunity to work with ASICS, which was cool because I got to experience a different kind of working environment. It was really interesting to see how the way of life is different, how people handle themselves differently. It was something that I really enjoyed and learned a lot from, so I'm thankful for that. It opens so many more opportunities for me, because businesses are becoming so much more international that, if I have that kind of experience when I start looking for a job I think it will put me at the top of the list.

  1. Where are you from and what is the defining characteristic of your town?

Boring [laughs]. It [Madison, Ind.] is a town of about 10,000 people. The biggest cities nearby, Louisville, Cincinnati, they're all about an hour drive. In the summertime, it's not bad when you can go outside, but in the wintertime, you have nothing to do, you are stuck at home [laughs]. A good time hanging out with friends would be considered driving around in your car, so that's what there is to do in my town. I love my town because of family and friends and memories, but I would love to live in a bigger city for a while until I would think about moving back.

  1. Do you have a favorite road trip memory from your time at JU?

I have a few of just driving back and forth home and to school with my dad, because we like to push each other's buttons [laughs] and we're not the type of people who can drive long distances, so we're stopping every two to three hours and we're bugging each other. It's a lot of fun, but at the same time, very frustrating. That's a good memory, because my family has never taken road trips before, so that's the biggest road trip me and my dad have ever done, and we're really close. It's just a fun memory to think about, even though the drive kind of [stinks].

That's like a 12-13 hour drive anyway, how much longer was it?

Yeah, it's about 12.5. A lot of people can say, 'oh, I can drive that in one day' and I'm like, 'yeah, we have to take two days'. We just can't stay awake, we just get tired and everything, but it's not bad because my dad is there and we can split it up. It's a good memory.

  1. You mention the specific accessories that you like to wear, can you go into detail as to when you started wearing the socks and the earrings and what they look like?

I started with the socks and the earrings in…I would say seventh grade. I would always match the socks with the outfit and I would always wear hoop earrings, which was something that always stuck with me, and then everyone kind of associated me with the matching socks and the earrings. It kind of just stuck and I said 'well I can't change it now, people associate me with that', so it has kind of just been since seventh grade.

Got a reputation, got to live up to it.

  1. Do you have a pre-round go-to meal or a snack that you carry around with you on the course?

Because we stay at hotels normally, it's just really what the hotels have to offer. I usually eat some cereal, some eggs, something light because I don't like going into my round feeling super full and heavy because it is usually hot. I like to hydrate with water and then I'll eat snacks every three or four holes, such as like protein bars or a little sandwich. We are usually provided a lunch, like a wrap of something. I don't like to keep it heavy, because golf is really important with what you eat and what you drink because if you eat too much, your brain is more focused on processing the food rather than focusing on the task at hand. You kind of have to balance it out. Avoid soft drinks, and I avoid Powerades and stuff like that, just because the sugar can really affect how you finish.

  1. The final question comes from, and I promise this was not planned, but your roommate, Jaci Hodskins of softball. She wanted to know, if you could be any superhero, who would you be and why?

Let's see…I'm not really big into superheroes, so this will probably be pretty basic. I'm going to say Superman, because he can do everything, and is, you know, the go-to guy apparently. I would choose him, but I don't have many reasons backing it because I don't watch a lot of superhero movies [laughs].

Superman is my favorite too, so I'm with you on that. Now you get to come up with any question that you would like to know about a fellow student-athlete. 

If you and your team could go anywhere in the world to compete in an event, where would you go?

You can listen to all Dolphin Dozen interviews, coach's podcasts, game highlights and more right on your phone! Subscribe to "Dolphin PODcasts" on Apple Podcasts and Google Podcasts.