Hiron Named ASUN Player of the Year; Eight Others Earn All-ASUN Honors

Ashtyn Hiron named ASUN Player of the Year; Mindy McCord named ASUN Co-Coach of the Year

LAKE POINT, Ga. – Capping an outstanding senior season with Jacksonville University women's lacrosse, senior midfielder Ashtyn Hiron was named ASUN Conference Player of the Year, while eight others took home All-ASUN honors. Additionally, head coach Mindy McCord was named ASUN Co-Coach of the Year for the third time in five years.

Hiron, Mackenzie Groark, Lillie Miller, and Sarah Elms earned a spot on the All-ASUN First Team, while Erica Beal and Erin McGuire were selected to the Second Team. Additionally, Elms was joined by Jenny Kinsey and Megan Prescott on the ASUN All-Freshman Team.

A three-time member of the Australian Women's National Team, Hiron posted career-high numbers across the board this season as she netted 59 goals and added 18 assists for a total of 77 points this year. She scored four or more goals in nine of 16 games played this season, while also ranking second in the ASUN in draw controls (84) and caused turnovers (25). She ranks third in the league in ground ball pickups with 37 entering the postseason. Hiron earns a spot on the First Team All-Conference for the third-time in her outstanding Jacksonville career.

Hiron was also named to the 2018 ASUN All-Academic Team after posting a 3.61 cumulative GPA in communications.

A senior defender, Groark played and started in all 17 games for the Dolphins this season and finished the regular season with 20 ground balls and 18 caused turnovers. She led a Jacksonville defense that only allowed 9.50 goals per game during the regular season.

Miller, a junior midfielder and team captain, was a force on the draw for the Dolphins, posting 36 draw controls - good for third-most on the team. She also ranked second in free position goals with 11 this year.

A freshman attack, Elms was the final Dolphin honoree on the First Team after a breakout season. The two-time Player of the Week was a unanimous selection as she scored 48 goals and tallied 62 points. She added All-Freshman Team recognition to her resume as well. 

Beal, a junior defender, totaled 15 caused turnovers and picked up 14 ground balls during the regular season to earn Second Team All-ASUN honors. Her lock-down defense helps the Dolphins lead the ASUN and rank 16th in the nation in scoring defense (9.50), while her 15 CT help the Dolphins lead the league and rank sixth nationally with 11.94 caused turnovers per game.

A junior attack, McGuire joins Beal on the All-ASUN Second Team. She ranks third in the ASUN with 32 assists and seventh with 50 points. Along with setting a new JU single-season record with 32 assists so far, she also ranks seventh all-time in program history with 42 assists. Additionally, McGuire has picked up 17 ground balls and caused six turnovers.

Along with Elms, Kinsey and Prescott earned a spot on the ASUN All-Freshman Team.

Kinsey's 17 assists are tied for sixth in the ASUN, while her 40 points rank fifth on the team. She also totaled 13 ground balls, 12 draw controls, and caused five turnovers. She also matched the program's second-most points in a single game with eight (2g, 6a) in the Dolphins' 23-1 win against Delaware State on April 14.

Prescott totaled the fourth-most points for Dolphin freshman with 19 (14 goals, 5 assists), and ranks eighth in the ASUN with 48 draw controls. She also picked up 26 ground balls and caused eight turnovers during the regular season. 

Head Coach Mindy McCord guided the Dolphins to a 14-3 overall record and a perfect 5-0 league record en route to their fifth ASUN Regular Season title and the #1 seed in the ASUN Tournament. McCord shares the honor with Coastal Carolina head coach Kristen Selvage.

For the full release from the ASUN, please visit ASUNSports.org.

2018 ASUN Women's Lacrosse Postseason Honors
Player of the Year: * Ashtyn Hiron, Jacksonville
Defensive Player of the Year:
Harley Barrett, Coastal Carolina
Freshman of the Year: Siena Gore, Kennesaw State
Coaches of the Year: Mindy McCord, Jacksonville and Kristen Selvage, Coastal Carolina 

First Team

Position Name School Class Hometown Academic Major
*GK Harley Barrett Coastal Carolina Jr. Perkiomenville, Pa. Finance
*D Mackenzie Groark Jacksonville Sr. Delran, N.J. Business Analytics/Sport Business
D Megan Kilpatrick Coastal Carolina So. Pennsauken, N.J. Recreation & Sport Management
D Maura Palandro Kennesaw State So. York, Pa. Biology
*M Ashtyn Hiron Jacksonville Sr. Perth, Western Australia Communications
*M Siena Gore Kennesaw State Fr. Alpharetta, Ga. Industrial Engineering
M Haley Kyger Coastal Carolina Jr. Edgewood, Md. Management
M Lillie Miller Jacksonville Jr. Elkridge, Md. Business Administration
*A Haley Alexander Coastal Carolina Jr. Bel Air, Md. Biology
*A Sarah Elms Jacksonville Fr. Severna Park, Md. Undecided
A Hallie Merz Stetson Sr. Babylon, N.y. Marketing
A Glory Johnson Old Dominion So. Baldwinsville, N.Y. Marketing

Second Team

Position Name School Class Hometown Academic Major
GK Liza Diamond Stetson So. Delray Beach, Fla. Biology
D Emily D'Orsaneo Coastal Carolina So. Centreville, Md. Biology
D Erica Beal Jacksonville Jr. Leesburg, Va. Sport Business
D Laura Jordan Kennesaw State Sr. Marietta, Ga. Sport Management
D Kerri Caruso Old Dominion Jr. Downington, Pa. Engineering
M Sophie Crowther Coastal Carolina Sr. Whiteford, Md. Marketing
M Natia Warren Howard Sr. Montclair, N.J. Marketing
M Maddie Holvey Stetson Sr. Akron, Ohio Sport Marketing
A Erin McGuire Jacksonville Jr. Westminster, Md. Psychology & Pre-Med
A Haley Swift Kennesaw State Jr. Acworth, Ga. Art
A Connor Zophy Kennesaw State Sr. Westminster, Md. Business
A Riley Reagan Stetson Fr. Windermere, Fla. Computer Science

All-Freshman Team

Position Name School Hometown Academic Major
*A Siena Gore Kennesaw State Alpharetta, Ga. Industrial Engineering
*M Megan Busch Coastal Carolina Annapolis, Md. Communications
*M Jordan Harrell Coastal Carolina Pasadena, Md. Biology
*A Julia Imbo Coastal Caorlina Bayport-Blue Point, N.Y. Pre-Elementary Education
*M Jillian Jones Howard Fresno, Calif. Biology
*A Sarah Elms Jacksonville Severna Park, Md. Undecided
*M Jenny Kinsey Jacksonville Columbia, Md. Chemistry
*M Megan Prescott Jacksonville Ellicott City, Md. Kinesiology
*M Marissa Gore Kennesaw State Alpharetta, Ga. Electrical Engineering
*A Lindsay Baer Old Dominion Abington, Pa. Accounting
*A Claire Porter Old Dominion Berlin, Md. Criminal Justice
*A Riley Reagan Stetson Widnermere, Fla. Computer Science
D Emily McGowan Stetson Vero Beach, Fla. International Business

*-denotes unanimous selection