Polimeno, Artis Notch Wins On Final Day of Embry-Riddle Spikes Classic

Lauren Polimeno competes in the high jump and Grace Artis competes in the discus throw

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Led by several top-five marks and a pair of event wins from the freshman class, Jacksonville University women's track and field competed with a limited roster and finished seventh at the Embry-Riddle Spikes Classic, Saturday afternoon.

After closing out yesterday in third, freshman Lauren Polimeno posted top-three finishes to overtake her competitors and win the heptathlon with 4,562 points. The reigning ASUN Champion in the pentathlon, Polimeno won the 800-meter run, finished as the runner-up in the long jump, and threw the third-best distance in the javelin to earn 562 more points than the nearest finisher.

Fellow freshman Grace Artis impressed in the throws, winning the hammer throw (50.16 meters/164 feet, 7 inches) and posting a runner-up finish in the discus (40.23m/132 ft., 0 in.). Both distances set new personal bests by over two feet for the Roswell, Ga. native, as her marks eclipsed her previous PRs in the hammer (49.43m/162 ft., 2 in.) and discus (39.04m/129 ft., 0 in.) set at the UNF Spring Break Invitational.

Classmate Sade Meeks highlighted a pair of third-place finishes in the hammer throw (47.42m/155 ft., 7 in.) and discus (37.84m/124 ft., 2 in.), en route to a personal best in the latter by 5 feet-5 inches.

Rounding out top-five performances were redshirt-senior Stormm Phillips and junior Noelle Parker in the 100-meter hurdles and hammer throw, respectively. Phillips also placed eighth in the 100-meter dash, while Parker finished eighth in the discus.

The freshman duo of Jayann Johnson and Erika Earwood combined for four top-15 placings. Earwood set a new PR in the hammer throw by over a foot to finish ninth overall (41.28m/135 ft., 5 in.) and placed 15th in the discus, while Johnson took 10th in the discus and 12th in the hammer.

The Dolphins return to action next Friday, April 13, when they travel to Gainesville for the Tom Jones Memorial Invitational, hosted by the University of Florida.