SUNDAY, APRIL 21, 2013
Jacksonville Advances To Semifinals Before Falling to Stetson at A-Sun Tournament
Senior Nicole Teplitz
Senior Nicole Teplitz

Strausbaugh and Nyquist Named to All-Tournament Team after going 4-0 for the Dolphins

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – The Jacksonville fought off a second straight elimination game before falling to Stetson 3-2 in a semifinal match on the final day of play at the 2013 Atlantic Sun Conference Sand Volleyball Championships Sunday afternoon at the Dolphin Beach Volleyball Complex.

Jacksonville started the day with a 3-2 come from behind victory over Florida Gulf Coast 3-2 fueled by a pair of key three set victories at the No. 2 and No. 3 positions. The Dolphins trailed 2-1, after the No. 1 pair of Sammie Strausbaugh and Taylor Nyquist won in straight sets 21-12, 21-10.
Next up was the No. 3 pair of Gabriela Roman and Alyssa Robertson rallied from a 14-11 deficit in the second set to force a third set which they won 15-11 to complete a 11-21, 21-19, 15-11 victory. Moments later the deciding match finished as the No. 2 pair of Kendall Courtney and Niatha Cullen scored five of the final six points in set three to complete a 21-19, 19-21, 15-12 victory.

Jacksonville moved on to face Stetson in another tightly contested elimination contest before the Hatters prevailed 3-2 to earn the rematch with North Florida. The match against the Dolphins was also square at 1-1 after Stetson’s No. 4 pair Alisha Hoffman and Catherine Coston won in straight sets by scores of 21-13, 21-12 and Jacksonville’s No. 4 pair of Emily Laskelle and Nicole Teplitz fought back from a 7-3 third set deficit to earn a 15-10 win and a 21-18, 19-21, 15-10 match victory.

Living up to their A-Sun Pair of the Year billing, Strausbaugh and Nyquist then won at the No. 1 position 21-19, 21-16 for Jacksonville for a 2-1 lead. Stetson’s No. 3 pair of Savannah Byl and Katie DiGirolamo won 21-18, 21-18 to even the match before the No. 2 pair of Claudia Kalin and Julie Bassett won 21-17, 23-21 to secure the win and earn a spot in the championship round.

Strausbaugh and Nyquist, who now have a 29-3 overall record as a pair this season, earned a spot on the All-Tournament Team along with Kaitlin Holm and Whitney Masters of Florida Gulf Coast and Caroline Carlton and Emily Rochefort.