Nyquist and Strausbaugh Selected to Compete in AVCA National Championship
Sammie Strausbaugh and Taylor Nyquist (Photo credit: Skip Tapp)
Sammie Strausbaugh and Taylor Nyquist (Photo credit: Skip Tapp)

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Jacksonville University sand volleyball's No. 1 duo of Taylor Nyquist and Sammie Strausbaugh were selected by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) as one of 16 pairs in the country to compete in the Pairs Championship during the third annual AVCA Collegiate Sand Volleyball National Championship. The event will take place May 2-4 in Gulf Shores, Alabama.

Six schools were selected to compete in the team championship, including the University of Southern California, Pepperdine, Florida State University, the University of Hawai’i, Florida International University and Atlantic Sun Champion Stetson University.

The 16-team pairs field includes the top duos from the six universities as well as the top 10 pairs identified as the ‘Best of the Rest’ from schools that are not in the team action. Nyquist and Strausbaugh are in the company of duos from Long Beach State, the University of North Florida, Grand Canyon University, the University of Louisiana Monroe, Saint Mary’s College of California, Loyola Marymount University, Tulane and UAB.

The Pairs Championship is slated to start with pool play on Friday and Saturday, May 2 and 3. The top two finishers will be seeded into Sunday’s single elimination bracket while the six top pairs from the team championship schools and top two from the four semifinalists will also compete on Sunday. A play-in will occur for the remaining two spots.

Team Championship Schedule (All Times Central Daylight):

Friday, May 2

                9:00 a.m.   #4 Hawai’i v. #5 Florida International

                10:00 a.m. #3 Florida State v. #6 Stetson

                12:00 p.m.  #1 USC v. Winner #4/#5

                1:00 p.m.    #2 Pepperdine v. Winner #3/#6

                4:00 p.m.    Loser #4/#5 v. Loser of 1:00 p.m. match

                5:00 p.m.    Loser #3/#6 v. Loser of 12:00 p.m. match

Saturday, May 3

                11:00 a.m. Semi-Final #1

                12:00 p.m. Semi-Final #2

                3:30 p.m.   Championship Match


Best of the Rest Schedule (All Times Central Daylight):

Pool play matches at 11:00 a.m., 2:00 p.m., 3:00 p.m. on Friday, May 2 and 9:00 a.m., 10:00 a.m., 1:00 p.m. on Saturday, May 3; Play-in match at 2:00 p.m., Saturday, May 3


Pool A (Names of Players/School)

1. Delainey Aigner-Swesey/Bojana Tordorovic (LBSU)

2. Zuzana Markova/Marcela Araya (Louisiana Monroe)

3. Taylor Nyquist/Sammie Strausbaugh (Jacksonville)

4. Betsi Metter/Litara Keil (Loyola Marymount)

5. Kiriana Hirini/Bethanie Thomas (UAB)


Pool B (Names of Players/School)

1. Dagnija Medina/Kim Hildreth (North Florida)

2. Kenzie Phelps/Kelli Dallmann (Grand Canyon)

3. Tyler Jackson/Janisa Johnson (LBSU)

4. Jordan Shaw/Samantha Tinsley (Saint Mary’s)

5. Tea Juric/Jackie Wegner (Tulane)