Volleyball's Radka Dimitrova Named to Atlantic Sun All-Conference First Team

Nov. 20, 2002

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Jacksonville University junior outside hitter Radka Dimitrova (Sofia, Bulgaria) was named to the Atlantic Sun Volleyball All-Conference First Team as voted on by league coaches and released by the conference office Wednesday. Senior middle hitter Brooke Ahrens (Benson, Ill.) earned Second-Team All-Conference honors, while freshman middle blocker Danielle Neville (Greenwood Village, Colo.) made the All-Freshman Team.

UCF junior outside hitter Leyre Santaella Sante, last year's A-Sun Tournament MVP, was named A-Sun Player of the Year after leading the Golden Knights to a share of the A-Sun regular season title. Florida Atlantic's Iana Andonova was named Freshman of the Year, while Jacksonville State's Richard Nold was named Coach of the Year after leading the Gamecocks to a berth in the upcoming A-Sun Championship. The three all-conference teams were dominated by the top four seeds of the tournament as Georgia State led the way with five selections, followed by UCF with four and JU and Florida Atlantic with three. Stetson, which did not make the tournament, had two honorees, while Troy State, the sixth seed, had one.

For the season, Dimitrova leads the Dolphins in kills (410), kills per game (4.14) and digs (288), while her kills per game average also ranks third in the A-Sun, her .268 hitting percentage ranks 11th and her 2.91 digs per game ranks 10th. She is 14 kills away from breaking into JU's all-time top five for kills in a single season and has recorded the third-most attacks at JU in a single season with 1,028. Dimitrova has posted at least 20 kills in four of her last six matches and a double-double in seven of her last eight, including six straight, helping her earn back-to-back A-Sun Player-of-the-Week honors (Nov. 4 and Nov. 11).

Ahrens is the only Dolphin to play in all 104 games this season and ranks second on the team in kills (318), blocks (79) and service aces (27). She recorded a career-high 23 kills against Northeastern at Valparaiso's Crusader Classic and earned all-tournament honors at Clemson's Big Orange Bash. Neville had a standout rookie campaign, leading the A-Sun in blocks with 1.17 per game (1.43 b/g in A-Sun play) and ranking 12th in aces per game (0.36 sa/g) in league matches only. For the year, she has 128 kills and her 95 block assists currently rank fourth all-time at JU in a single season.

Fourth-seeded JU (14-13 Overall, 7-4 A-Sun) will face fifth-seeded Jacksonville State in the first-round of the A-Sun Championship Friday at UCF Arena.

2002 Atlantic Sun Volleyball All-Conference Awards

First Team School Radka Dimitrova Jacksonville Jenny Frank UCF Rachel Hassan Troy State Leyre Santaella Sante UCF Molly Sapp Georgia State Randi VanDam Georgia State

Second Team School Brooke Ahrens Jacksonville Jeana Boyle Florida Atlantic Kumi Ishiyama Georgia State Abby Miner Florida Atlantic Amanda Sapp Georgia State Kira Smedley Stetson

All-Freshman Team School Iana Andonova Florida Atlantic Chaz Arah UCF Dee Ann Dempsey Stetson Lisa Lykins Georgia State Danielle Neville Jacksonville Emily Watts UCF

Player of the Year Leyre Santaella Sante UCF

Freshman of the Year Iana Andonova Florida Atlantic

Coach of the Year Richard Nold Jacksonville State