Michaelene Cadiz Named A-Sun Freshman of the Year

Nov. 8, 2001

JACKSONVILLE. Fla. - Forward Michaelene Cadiz (Lutz, Fla.) was named as the Atlantic Sun's Freshman of the Year, as announced by the league office on Thursday. Dolphin senior defending duo Yvonna Rowinski (Los Angeles, Calif.) and Kathy Ciriello (Prospect, Conn.), along with junior midfielder Vanessa Illanes (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) also received recognition, being named to the All-Conference first team and second teams, respectively.

Cadiz, who led the Dolphins in goals and points, received the league's top honors for a freshman after finishing in the top 10 in the conference with eight goals and leading JU to a fourth-place finish in the conference and a berth in the 2001 A-Sun tournament. The Lutz, Fla., native was also named to the A-Sun's All-Conference second team.

Rowinski secured first-team all-Conference honors for the second straight year after scoring three goals from the defender position, while anchoring JU's league-leading defense.

Ciriello garnered second-team all-Conference recognition after both a solid season and career at JU. Ciriello helped lead the Dolphin defense, which allowed an A-Sun leading 1.35 goals a match.

Illanes earns second-team honors after bolstering the Dolphin offense and dishing out a team-high six assists, which is ranked in the top 10 in the conference.

The Dolphins, who entered the A-Sun tournament as the fourth seed, are in action this evening at 7:00, against fifth seed Georgia State in Orlando.

A-Sun PLAYER-OF-THE-YEAR: Michelle Anderson, UCF
A-Sun COACH-OF-THE-YEAR: Patrick Ferguson, Campbell
A-Sun FRESHMAN-OF-THE-YEAR: Michaelene Cadiz, JU

2001 All-Conference First Team 2001 All-Conference Second Team Pos. Name School Pos. Name School GK Erin Switalski Cam GK Molly Keating FAU D Yvonna Rowinski JU D Kathy Ciriello JU D Emma Kilduff TSU D Brooke Asby UCF D Jackie VanLooven UCF D Krista Fine FAU MF Michelle Anderson UCF MF Vanessa Illanes JU MF Rhonda Jones FAU MF Courtney Reeded TSU MF Emily Hulburt JSU MF Janine Alyward FAU MF Anna Benbtsson Mer F Lindsay Shanks Sam F Lisanne Peart FAU F Emma Astrom Stet F Andi Tickles TSU F Cristin Czubik Bel F Sara Davis Cam F Michaelene Cadiz JU F Nicole Cieslak UCF F Ashley Edwards GSU