Ally Lee Selected as a Senior CLASS Award Candidate

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Senior defender Ally Lee was announced on Wednesday as one of 30 candidates for the Senior CLASS Award in women’s soccer this season. Given annually to one worthy individual in 10 NCAA sports, the award recognizes achievements in four areas – community, classroom, character and competition.

A First Team All-Atlantic Sun selection in 2012 and the conference’s Preseason Defender of the Year in voting completed earlier this month, Lee is without question the leader of Jacksonville’s defense. In three seasons at JU, she has started 54 matches and only missed one game. In that time, the Dolphins have recorded 23 shutouts and allowed opponents a shot percentage of just .076. But even with all she does for her team, her hard work extends far beyond the playing field.

Going into her senior season, Lee carries a GPA of higher than 3.5 in elementary education and is Vice President of Kappa Delta Pi, JU’s School of Education Honor Society. With her position in Kappa Delta Pi, she has gone out into the community and spent time volunteering with the Boys and Girls Club of Jacksonville, providing one-on-one tutoring in literacy with area youth. She has also spent time as a volunteer assistant coach with a local girl’s youth soccer league. On track to graduate in the spring, Lee hopes to pursue a Master’s Degree in education and would someday like to teach Special Education in grades K-6.

“We are proud of Ally for being selected as a Senior CLASS Award candidate,” said Head Coach Brian Copham. “I am excited for her recognition and am glad that she will be recognized for her hard work, her commitment to the program and her dedication to those around her. She represents our program in the best possible way.”

Below is the list of this season’s 30 initial candidates for the award:

Women’s Soccer Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Brittany Anghel, Syracuse
Danielle Birdsall, Northern Colorado
Aubrey Bledsoe, Wake Forest
Allison Brees, Northern Iowa
Amber Davis, Western Illinois
Nikola Deiter, Central Connecticut State
Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois
Alyssa Diggs, Missouri
Katy Dolesh, Miami (Ohio)
Jonelle Filigno, Rutgers
Mariana Garcia, The Citadel
Kristen Hamilton, Denver
Maya Hayes, Penn State
Holly Hein, Michigan
Becca Hemby, High Point
Elizabeth Hoerner, Navy
Kassey Kallman, Florida State
Ally Lee, Jacksonville
Juliana Libertin, Dayton
Kat Ludlow, Baylor
Chloe McDaniel, Cal State Northridge
Kealia Ohai, North Carolina
Emily Oliver, Stanford
Frances Silva, West Virginia
Katie Stengel, Wake Forest
Anna Stinson, Illinois State
Chrissy Tchoula, Western Kentucky
Renee Washington, La Salle
Kylie Wassell, UNLV
Laura Weinberg, Duke

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award.