UCF And Troy State Claim TAAC Cross Country Titles

October 30, 1999

ORLANDO, Fla. - University of Central Florida's Sonja Shedden's (Troy, Pa./Troy HS) first place finish led the Golden Knights to their second Trans America Athletic Conference cross country championship title Saturday morning at the UCF Arena course. Campbell followed at second, with GSU a close third on the women's side. Jacksonville finished sixth in the ten team field.

Shedden, a sophomore at UCF, captured her first conference title, halting Georgia State's two-time champion Sarah Howard from becoming the first runner in conference history to win the championship three times. Shedden and Howard took turns in front of each other throughout the women's 5K race, but Shedden came up big in the last 100 yards to overtake Howard, crossing the finish line first at 18:06.1. "I knew it was going to be a tough race," Shedden said. "We must have passed each other 11 times. I just heard my teammates cheering, 'You've got her,' and I gave it all I had."

The win was Shedden's fifth of the season, earning her TAAC Runner of the Year honors. UCF's Brianne Harrington (St. Petersburg/Northside Christian HS) and Sara Dillman (Marshall, Mich./Marshall HS) finished sixth and seventh out of 71 women to join Shedden among the All-TAAC honorees. Jacksonville's Adrianna Campos finished third in a time of 18:53.8, earning her all-conference honors.

The men's 8K race was nearly an exact repeat of the 1998 race, as Troy State's Michael Green edged out GSU's Tee Mott for first place honors. GSU and Samford each landed two men in the top 10, out of 67 runners, to become the conference's first-ever team co-champions. Jacksonville finished eighth in the ten team men's field.

UCF's Sean McCabe (Palm Harbor/Eastlake HS) earned All-Conference honors with a seventh place run at 26:12.9, leading UCF to a fifth place team finish. Steven Cornelius (Valpariso/Niceville HS) was second for the Golden Knight men, crossing the line in 22nd place. Jacksonville was led by Israel Morales' 15th place finish in a time of 26:33.2.

UCF's Marcia Mansur-Wentworth was named the TAAC women's Coach of the Year, while Samford's Glenn McWaters took the honors for the men.