Charles and Hannon Receive Prestigious A-Sun Awards
Charles named A-Sun NCAA Woman of the Year & Hannon A-Sun Female Student-Athlete of the Year    

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Jacksonville University was strongly represented when the Atlantic Sun Conference handed out its most prestigious awards for 2012-13 academic year. The Dolphins were represented by Charlene Charles as the A-Sun NCAA Woman of the Year and by Rachel Hannon as the A-Sun Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

Charles, a graduating senior on the track & field team, compiled a 3.83 grade-point average as a communications major. She helped lead the Dolphins to their eighth straight indoor and outdoor Atlantic Sun titles this season earning Most Outstanding Field Performer honors for the indoor season.  Charles became the first athlete in A-Sun history to win the indoor long jump three times and was one of only 16 athletes in the country to qualify for the pentathlon at the 2013 NCAA Indoor Championships.  

She most recently was selected to the 2013 Capital One Academic All-District Women’s Track/Cross Country for District 4, and will be on the national ballot for Academic All-America along with each of the other eight geographic All-District selections.

A nursing major, Hannon graduated this spring with a 3.8 GPA. In the A-Sun’s first season of women’s lacrosse, she was a First Team All-Sun pick. Hannon capped off her record setting career by leading Jacksonville to its first ever NCAA Tournament appearance after winning both the Atlantic Sun regular season and tournament championships. As a junior in 2012 she set the NCAA record with 131 draw controls and was named the NLC Co-Player and the Defensive Player of the Year. She ended her playing career ranked 10th all-time in NCAA history with 3.47 draw controls per game.

A multiple Academic all-conference honoree during her career, Hannon was also awarded the Jacksonville Athletic Department’s Outstanding Senior Student-Athlete Award for 2012-13.

2012-13 A-Sun Awards
A-Sun NCAA Woman of the Year Charlene Charles (Jacksonville)
A-Sun Male Student-Athlete of the Year Gilbert Kemboi (USC Upstate)
A-Sun Female Student-Athlete of the Year Rachel Hannon (Jacksonville)
A-Sun Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient Gilbert Kemboi (USC Upstate)
A-Sun Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient Kacie Niemann (Mercer)
All-Sports Champion FGCU