Women's Cross Country Wins Taco Bell/JU Invitational

Sept. 15, 2000

Top Finishes: Men Teams: Bethune-Cookman-31, North Florida-35, Mercer-67, Florida A&M-129, Embry-Riddle-132, Stetson-135, Jacksonville-164. Individual: Zepherinus Joseph (UNF), 16:56, Nick Gramsky (Unatt.), 17:02, Jerry Reckart (UNF), 17:25, Joseph Langat (BCC), 17:26, Alexander Chemwolo (BCC), 17:31. Women Teams: Jacksonville-30, North Florida-39, Bethune-Cookman-89, Georgia Southern-114, Florida A&M-116, Stetson-145, Mercer-159, Embry-Riddle-185. Individual: Sarah Davey (UNF), 18:33, Jennifer Ford (UNF), 18:45, Adriana Campos (JU), 19:34, April Nudo-Patterson (JU), 19:53, Christine Weiher (JU), 20:18.

The Jacksonville University women's cross country team finished in first place, while the men finished seventh at the Taco Bell/JU Cross Country meet Friday evening.

The women's team finished the 3.1-mile course with 30 total points. Adriana Campos led the Dolphins and finished third overall with a 19:34 time. April Nudo-Patterson came in fourth at, 19:53 and Christine Weiher finished fifth with a 20:18 mark. Also scoring for JU were Ayesha Muhammad (20:32) and Chelsea Knight (20:37). North Florida came in second, as a team, with 39 points, followed by Bethune-Cookman (89), Georgia Southern (114), Florida A&M (116), Stetson (145), Mercer (159) and Embry-Riddle (185).

On the men's side, Rowan Irons led the Dolphins with a 19:34 time in the 4-mile race, 26th overall. Kevin Barry followed with a 19:43 finish. Other JU scorers were Alan Lindell (20:25), Kellie Roberts (21:30) and Drew Domoto (25:33). Bethune-Cookman College won the Invitational with 31 total points, followed by North Florida (35), Mercer (67), Florida A&M (129), Embry-Riddle (132) and Stetson (135).

The Dolphins return to action when they travel to Gainesville, Fla. on Sept. 30 for the Florida Barnett Bank Invitational hosted by the University of Florida.

JU Men's Times                 JU Women's Times
Rowan Irons, 19:34 (26th)      Adriana Campos, 19:34 (3rd)
Kevin Barry, 19:43 (31st)      April Nudo-Patterson, 19:53 (4th)
Alan Lindell, 20:25 (34th)     Christine Weiher, 20:18 (5th)
Kellie Roberts, 21:30 (43rd)   Ayesha Muhammad, 20:32 (8th)
Drew Domoto, 25:33 (53rd)      Chelsea Knight, 20:37 (10th)
                               Alexis Wieroniey, 22:05 (25th)
                               Laura Winn, 24:00 (37th)
                               Karen Demaroney, 24:18 (40th)