JU Women's Cross Country Finishes in Second in Sweet Tomatoes/JU Invitational

Oct. 12, 2001

Jacksonville University's Alexis Wieroniey finished 15 overall out of 112 runners and Chelsea Knight finished close behind in 18th to lead JU's women's cross country team to a season-best second-place finish Friday in the Sweet Tomatoes/ JU Cross Country Invitational Friday evening on the JU campus. The women finished the challenging course with a total of 83 points, crossing five runners in the top-25 in the University Division.

Along with Wieroniey and Knight's performances, JU got great effort from Tamsin Anstey (27th overall, 25:12.87), who finished 18th in the D-I Division, and Jennifer Takach (29th overall, 26:14.84), who raced to a 19th-place finish. Patti Jenkins finished in 23rd (36th overall, 21:12). Laura Winn (61st overall, 26:16.38) and Kate Benson (68th overall, 26:36.05) also participated finishing in 38th and 42nd in their division.

The Dolphin men finished sixth in the 8-K race, with a total of 168 points. Tony Strother (55th overall, 31:46) paced the JU runners with a 26th-place finish. Rowan Irons (61st overall, 32:22) and Jeremy Berven (62nd overall, 32:25) followed, finishing in 31st and 32nd place. Scott Cook (75th overall, 33:51) trailed close behind with 37th-place, while Brian Boone (85th overall, 36:06) finished in 42nd to round off the Dolphins' scoring. Other Dolphins to participate were Drew Domoto (86th overall, 36:11), James Calandro (90th overall, 38:24) and Will Beaton (92nd overall, 38:43), who finished the race in 43rd, 46th and 48th place respectively.

Auburn University took first place in both the men and women's race, with 15 and 18 points respectively. The Tiger men crossed the top five in the race, while the women crossed the top four in the University Division. North Florida won the men's College Division competition with five top-10 finishes, while Tampa won the women's the women's College Division.

Auburn's made an individual title sweep as Tiger runners Giscard Titus won the men's race and Alexis Hamblett took first in the women's. North Florida's Brett Parker won the College division men's title. Tracy Buxton of Tampa won the women's individual crown.

The Dolphins return to action on Friday, October 19, when they travel to DeLand, Fla. to participate in the Hatter Invitational hosted by Stetson.

JU Women's Times (Div./Overall)		JU Men's Times (Div./Overall)
Alexis Wieroniey (11/15), 20:17		Tony Strother (26/55), 31:46
Chelsea Knight (12/18), 20:24		Rowan Irons (31/61), 32:22
Tamsin Anstey (18/27), 20:48		Jeremy Berven (32/62), 32:25
Jennifer Takach (19/29), 20:52		Scott Cook (37/75), 33:51
Patti Jenkins (23/36), 21:12		Brian Boone (42/85), 36:06
Laura Winn (38/61), 22:22		Drew Domoto (43/86), 36:11
Kate Benson (42/68), 22:37	        James Calandro (46/90), 38:24 							        Will Beaton (48/92), 38:43